For a secure connection, click here. If you’re wondering why this is important, click here.



The World Press Review?s 1999 International Editors of the Year award has been given to three journalists from Sierra Leone: Paul Kamara, editor of ?For di People?, Philip Neville, editor of ?Standard Times?, and David Tam-Baryoh, editor of ?Punch?. The award was presented at a ceremony at the United Nations in New York City on 28 September. It is given annually to an editor or editors outside the United States in recognition of enterprise, courage, and leadership in advancing the freedom and responsibility of the press, enhancing human rights, and fostering excellence in journalism.

According to Kakuna Kerina, director of the Africa programme at the International League for Human Rights and former Africa program coordinator at the Committee to Protect Journalists, the fact that these three editors survived Sierra Leone?s brutal war is ?a testament to their sheer determination to ?live to tell? and their collective experience as survivors of more than 32 years of press-freedom violations.? Neville, Tam-Baryoh, and Kamara were among 13 journalists named on a rebel death list a few days before the January 1999 rebel invasion. For more information, see

Latest Tweet:

.@HRW: @UN took an important step in global efforts to protect privacy on the internet.