For a secure connection, click here. If you’re wondering why this is important, click here.
Use a secure connection    Why this is important



Sign up for weekly updates


UNESCO is inviting nominations for the 2003 UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize. Named in honour of slain Colombian journalist Guillermo Cano, the prestigious prize is awarded annually to a journalist or organisation that has made notable efforts, often at great risk, to promote or defend press freedom.

UNESCO will present the award, worth US$25,000, at a special ceremony marking World Press Freedom Day on 3 May 2003.

Professional and non-governmental organisations in the fields of media and free expression, as well as UNESCO member states, may nominate individuals for the award. No Member State or organisation may submit more than three candidates in the same year. Nominations should be submitted in writing in English or French

To nominate candidates, request an application form from the Assistant Director-General for Communication and Information, Abdul Waheed Khan: Tel: +1 4568 4202; Fax: +1 4568 5584; Email:
[email protected].

The deadline for submissions is 31 October.

Latest Tweet:

#Turkey: Offices of Yeni Şafak & Yeni Akit newspapers attacked with guns, molotov cocktails @ETemelkuran @RFERL