المناطق:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

تأثيرنا

 

آيفكس معروفة كشبكة عالمية ذات مصداقية وجديرة بالثقة وبأن تحركاتها التي تهدف إلى الدفاع عن حرية التعبير وتعزيزها تحدث فرقا. نحن نسعى جاهدين لتوفير منصة ومساحة عمل ضرورية لاستكشاف الردود والحلول لانتهاكات وقضايا حرية التعبير المعقدة والمتطورة أكثر أي وقت مضى.

الأعضاء وتنمية الشبكة

كشبكة تحتوي على أكثر من 104 عضواً من المنظمات في أكثر من 65 بلدا، هي أكثر بكثير من مجموع أجزائها. حيث تدعم الأمانة العامة لآيفكس، ومقرها في تورونتو بكندا المشاورات وتبادل الأفكار والخبرة والدعم. هذا ما يجعل شبكتنا فريدة من نوعها، ويسمح لنا بالعمل بطريقة محترمة وفعالة.

التحالفات الإقليمية

يشكل تحالف المنظمات الأعضاء في أيفكس في أمريكا اللاتينية ومنطقة البحر الكاريبي مصدر معلومات مهم وجماعة ضغط فعالة تدعو للحق في حرية التعبير من خلال الأمم المتحدة ومنظمة لجنة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان. ويقوي التحالف المنظمات الفردية، كما شكل هذا المزيج من المناصرة الإقليمية وبناء القدرات مصدر إلهام لأعضاء آيفكس في مناطق أخرى. ففي عام 2013، تم إطلاق تحالف حرية التعبير في أفريقيا.

"تكمن قوة آيفكس في كونها شبكة غير مركزية يقوم فيها الأعضاء بالمشاركة ويتم فيها التركيزعلى تنمية الشبكة من الداخل باستخدام خبرات الأعضاء، كما تعزز التعاون بطريقة غير هرمية. لا يستطيع الجميع التعامل مع كل هذه التفاصيل الدقيقة - ولكن تقوم آيفكس بعمل كبير في هذا المجال، حيث تخلق بيئة تعاونية يمكن لأي شخص فيها أن يقوم بتبادل المهارات والتعلم... إن مبدأ المعاملة بالمثل يجعل هذه الشبكة عظيمة ". تقييم آيفكس لعام 2014.

"كعضو في شبكة آيفكس، نحن نشعر بالفخر عندما يتم دعمنا من قبل شبكة من المنظمات التي تشترك من أجل هدف واحد، بالاضافة إلى الأمان، نحن نشعر بأننا لسنا وحدها في هذا العمل". تقييم آيفكس لعام 2014.

"لدعم منظمات حرية التعبير في الجزء الجنوبي من العالم - نعمل معها لبناء قدراتها لتصبح موثوقة ومهنية في نهجها، حتى تتمكن من الحصول على الدعم - مثل المنح – في عملها على المستوى المحلي. إن نهج آيفكس في بناء قدرات المنظمات في الجنوب من الدرجة الأولى ويساعدنا على الثقة والاعتماد على هؤلاء الشركاء أيضا". تقييم آيفكس لعام 2014.

الحملات والمناصرة

العديد من المنظمات الأعضاء في آيفكس ملتزمة ونشيطة بحيوية ومبدعة، أحيانا من تلقاء نفسها، وأحيانا تستفيد من قوة شبكة آيفكس، وأحيانا تتعاون مع المنظمات والشبكات الأخرى. بالإضافة إلى الدعم والمساعدة على نشر المعلومات حول حملات الأعضاء، تدير الامانة العامة لآيفكس منذ عام 2011 حملة واسعة لإنهاء الإفلات من العقاب؛ للمطالبة بمحاسبة أولئك المسؤولين عن ارتكاب جرائم ضد جميع أشكال التعبير.

إنهاء الإفلات من العقاب

في غضون ثلاث سنوات فقط، تولّت آيفكس مشكلة حددتها شبكة آيفكس بالكامل باعتبارها تمثل عقبة أساسية وواسعة النطاق لقدرتها على حماية وتعزيز حرية التعبير، وأسست حملة عالمية للمساعدة في التصدي لها. بالرغم من أنه لا يزال هناك الكثير من العمل الذي يتعين القيام به، شهدنا بعض التقدم الهام.

لقد كانت هناك نتائج إيجابية في قضيتين تم تسليط الضوء عليهما في حملة عام 2012: حيث ألغي الحكم لمدة سنتين على إيرينا كاليب من (روسيا البيضاء). ونفذت اعتقالات في قضية الهجوم الوحشي على الصحفي لقبان اخميدفوف من (كازاخستان). كما ان الصحفي توفو ويندي من جمهورية الكونغوو الذي تم تسليط الضوء على قضيته أيضاً في حملة عام 2012، أفاد بأن التغطية الإعلامية والحملة قدمت له الحماية وقدمت الدعم أيضاً لصحفيين آخرين وشجعتهم. وأفاد جميع الأشختص الذين كتب عنهم في حملة عام 2013 بأنهم رأوا نتائج إيجابية في قضيتهم الفردية، والتي تم تلخيصها في رسومنا البيانية الخاصة بالحملة. الأهم من ذلك، أفاد أعضاء آيفكس أن الحملة أثارت بشكل فعال الوعي حول الإفلات من العقاب ودعمت جهودهم للحصول على الاهتمام حول قضايا محددة.

في كانون الاول من عام 2013، وفي أعقاب حملة تلك السنة وبعد ضغط شديد من قبل أعضاء آيفكس، رحبنا بالأنباء التي تفيد بأن الأمم المتحدة قد أعلنت 2 تشرين الثاني اليوم العالمي السنوي لإنهاء الإفلات من العقاب في الجرائم المرتكبة ضد الصحفيين.

مع هذا اليوم الجديد للأمم المتحدة كنقطة محورية، ركزت حملة آيفكس لإنهاء الإفلات من العقاب لعام 2014 الجهود حول ارسال رسالة قوية للحكومات مفادها بأنها ستخضع للمساءلة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالإفلات من العقاب في بلدانها. إن التركيز على كسب التأييد الحكومي المباشر أعطى زخماً جديداً للحملة، حيث حصلت على اهتمام وردود رفيع المستوى من الحكومات والبعثات الدائمة للأمم المتحدة، ومنظومة الأمم المتحدة.

"إن تحفيز التحرك والتقريب بين الناس يحدث التأثير – إنها ليس مجرد فكرة جميلة – بل إننا نحتاج شخص ليفعل ذلك، ويقوم بإجبار الأعضاء على التفكير لما هو أبعد من منظماتهم حول حرية التعبير. نحن أقوى كمجتمع مدني نتيجة لذلك ". تقييم آيفكس لعام 2014.

"لقد كان اليوم العالمي لإنهاء الإفلات من العقاب ناجحاً جدا. إنه يعطي الجميع الشعور بالهدف المشترك، حيث كانت الغالبية العظمى من الأعضاء جزءا منه. كما ولّد شعورا بالزخم العالمي لم يكن موجودا من قبل. وكان دور آيفكس رئيسي. لقد نجحت بجعل اليوم معترف به دوليا (أي يوم الأمم المتحدة بتاريخ 2 تشرين الثاني)، كما أن وسائل الإعلام تقوم بالحديث عنه ". تقييم آيفكس لعام 2014.

"حملات آيفكس تحظى باهتمام ولها تأثير على مستوى كل بلد على حدة، وداخل الهيئات المكلفة بحماية حقوق الإنسان". تقييم آيفكس لعام 2014.

المعلومات وتفاعل الجمهور

تعمل آيفكس على بناء فهم أوسع حول حرية التعبير والإعلام ودعمها، وعلى المشاركة الفعالة للناس مع التحركات التي تدافع عن هذا الحق الأساسي وتعززه.

تطور آيفكس الرقمي

لا يكفي إنشاء محتوى وجعله متاح. في عالم مشبع من المعلومات المتزايدة يجب علينا أن نسعى جاهدين لضمان أن أصواتنا أصبحت تسمع وبأن لدينا وسيلة لقياس مدى فعالية تواصلنا. لذلك، تقوم الامانة العامة لآيفكس باختيار محتوى فريد ومهم من المنظمات الأعضاء ويكتب مقالات حول ذلك، وينشر المواد ويتأكد من وصولها إلى الجماهير الرئيسية. بالإضافة إلى التقارير الإخبارية والمقالات المعمقة التي تستكشف اتجاهات محددة في مشهد حرية التعبير، تروي آيفكس قصص حرية التعبير بطرق الأخرى مثل: الجداول الزمنية التفاعلية، معارض الصور، الخرائط القصصية، الرسوم البيانية، والتسجيلات الصوتية. إن الموقع هو محور الأخبار والمقالات والحملات الإعلامية المتعلقة بحرية التعبير، كما أن شبكات وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية والنشرات الإخبارية الإلكترونية توفّر قصص هامة وفي أوقات محددة للجمهور المتنامي – جميع ذلك يساعد على بناء المشاركة والتفاعل مع قضايا حرية التعبير الهامة .

اقتباسات:

"تكمن قوة آيفكس في نظرتنا العالمية الشاملة: وضع الأمور في نصابها، وتحديد الاتجاهات. نأتي من جميع أنحاء العالم، وأحيانا نغرق في واقعنا، ولا نرى الصورة الكبيرة. لكن آيفكس توفر لنا ذلك". تقييم آيفكس لعام 2014.

"ركّزت آيفكس الاهتمام وحافظت على زخم قضايا حرية التعبير، وشكلت نقطة محورية لهذه المشكلة بالنسبة للأفراد الذين يعملون حول قضايا متعددة. لا يوجد منظمة أخرى لديها هذا الجمهور أو التركيز". تقييم آيفكس لعام 2014.

من شبكتنا:

#Indonesia Members of radical religious group attack journalist, bar media coverage via @AJI_JAKARTA @seapabkk https://t.co/Y5MA37HlGg

For a secure connection, click here. If you’re wondering why this is important, click here.
Use a secure connection    why this is important

REGIONS:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

Our Impact

 

IFEX is recognised as a credible, trustworthy global network whose actions to promote and defend freedom of expression make a difference. We strive to provide an essential platform and workspace for exploring responses and solutions to complex and ever-evolving freedom of expression issues and violations.

Member and Network Development
As a network with more than 90 member organisations in over 60 countries, IFEX is far more than the sum of its parts. The IFEX Secretariat, based in Toronto, Canada, supports consultations and exchanges of ideas, support and expertise. This is what makes our network unique, and allows us to work in a way that is respectful and effective.

REGIONAL ALLIANCES
The alliance of IFEX member organizations in Latin America and the Caribbean is an important information source and an effective lobbying group, advocating for the right to freedom of expression through the United Nations and the Organization of American States/Inter-American Commission on Human Rights system. IFEX-ALC strengthens individual members as well, and this blend of regional advocacy and capacity-building has been an inspiration to IFEX members in other regions. In 2013 this led to the launch of the African Freedom of Expression Exchange (AFEX).

“IFEX's strength is it is very much a real peer-to-peer network, where there is sharing between members and a focus on growing the network from within, using the expertise of members in a way that is not top-down and fosters collaboration. Not everyone can handle all those subtleties – IFEX does a great job at this, creating a collaborative environment where everyone can share skills and learn something...The genuine reciprocity is what makes this network great.” — 2014 evaluation

“As an IFEX member organisation, we feel proud to have the backing of a network of organisations that share a common goal, along with the security this provides of not being alone in this work.” — 2014 evaluation

“Support to freedom of expression organisations in the global South - working with them to build capacity so that they can be viewed as reliable, professional in their approach and so that they can get support – such as grants – for their work at the local level. IFEX's approach to capacity building for organisations in the South is top-notch and helps us trust and rely on these partners, too.” — 2014 evaluation

Campaigns and Advocacy
IFEX member organisations are committed, energetic and creative campaigners, sometimes on their own, sometimes leveraging the power of the IFEX network, and sometimes in conjunction with other organizations and networks. In addition to supporting and helping to spread the word about member campaigns, since 2011 the Secretariat has run a network-wide campaign to end impunity; to demand that those who commit crimes against all forms of expression be held accountable for those crimes.

ENDING IMPUNITY
In just three years, IFEX took a problem identified by the entire IFEX network as a fundamental, widespread obstacle to their ability to defend and promote freedom of expression, and built a global campaign to help address it. While there is much work to be done, we have seen some important progress.

There were positive results in two cases the campaign featured in 2012: Iryna Khalip's (Belarus) two-year suspended sentence lifted; and arrests in the case of a brutal attack on journalist Luqpan Akhmedyarov (Kazakhstan). Democratic Republic of Congo journalist Tuver Wundi, also profiled in IDEI 2012, reported that the media coverage and campaign exposure provided him with protection and other journalists with support and encouragement. Each of the people profiled in the 2013 campaign reported that they had seen positive results in their individual cases, summarised in our campaign infographic. And, importantly, IFEX members reported that the campaign effectively raised awareness about impunity and supported their efforts to get attention on specific cases.

In December 2013, hot on the heels of that year's campaign, and after intense lobbying by IFEX members, we welcomed the news that the United Nations had declared 2 November the annual International Day to End Impunity for Crimes Against Journalists.

With this new UN Day as a focal point, IFEX's 2014 campaign to end impunity concentrated efforts around sending a strong message to governments that, when it comes to impunity in their countries, they are accountable. A targeted focus on direct government lobbying gave the campaign new momentum and garnered high-level attention and responses from governments, UN Permanent Missions, and the UN system.

“Catalysing the movement and bringing people together is an impact – not just a nice idea – and someone needs to do that, to force members to think bigger than themselves on freedom of expression. And we are stronger as civil society as a result.” – 2014 evaluation

“The International Day to End Impunity has been very successful. It gives everyone a sense of joint purpose, the vast majority of members have been part of it, and it has generated a feeling of global momentum that was not there before. IFEX's coordination role was key. It has succeeded by making the day recognized internationally (i.e., the November 2 UN Day) and the media is picking up on it.” – 2014 evaluation

“IFEX's campaigns garner attention and have an impact at the individual country level and within bodies tasked with protecting human rights” – 2014 evaluation

Information and Audience Engagement
IFEX works to build a greater understanding of and support for freedom of expression and information, and to effectively engage people in actions that promote and defend this fundamental right.

IFEX'S DIGITAL EVOLUTION
It's not enough to create content and make it available; in an increasingly information-saturated world we must strive to ensure that our voices are being heard and that we have a way to measure how effective our communications are. The Secretariat curates unique and important content from member organizations and creates original, engaging materials, and makes sure they reach key audiences. In addition to news reports and longer articles that explore specific trends in the free expression landscape, IFEX tells free expression stories in a number of other ways: interactive timelines, photo galleries, Story Maps, infographics, and podcasts. The website is a hub of news, articles and campaigns information related to free expression, and our social media networks and e-newsletters deliver timely and important stories to an ever-growing audience – all of which helps to build engagement with critical free expression issues.

“IFEX's strength is our global view: putting things into perspective and identifying trends. We come from all parts of the world and sometimes we get so engulfed in our own realities, we miss the big picture. IFEX provides this.” – 2014 evaluation

“IFEX has focused attention and maintained momentum on freedom of expression issues, and is a focal point for this issue for members who work on multiple issues. No other organisation has this reach or focus.” – 2014 evaluation

Latest Tweet:

Proposed trade agreement undermines user control and that's disastrous for accessibility http://t.co/acPa3CeBIC | @eff #copyright #TPP