For a secure connection, click here. If you’re wondering why this is important, click here.


Our Team


The IFEX Council

The IFEX Council acts on behalf of IFEX network members, overseeing policy and dealing with all strategic and substantial matters facing IFEX. Council members are elected at the biannual IFEX General Meeting, and serve on the Council for two-year terms.

IFEX Council members for 2013-2015 are:

IFEX Convenor: Barbara Trionfi, International Press Institute, Austria
Deputy IFEX Convenor: Wesley Gibbings, Association of Caribbean Media Workers, Trinidad and Tobago
Barbora Bukovská, ARTICLE 19, United Kingdom
Arnold Amber, Canadian Journalists for Free Expression, Canada
Masjaliza Hamzah, Centre for Independent Journalism, Malaysia
Essam Shiha, Egyptian Organization for Human Rights, Egypt
Andrés D'Alessandro, Foro de Periodismo Argentino, Argentina
Taranath Dahal, Freedom Forum, Nepal
Oleg Postovanu, Independent Journalism Center, Moldova
Jacqui Park, International Federation of Journalists, Belgium
Sulemana Braimah, Media Foundation for West Africa, Ghana
Zoé Titus, Media Institute of Southern Africa, Namibia
Marian Botsford Fraser, PEN International, United Kingdom

The IFEX Staff Team

The IFEX staff team, based in Toronto, Canada, runs the day to day operations of the network and is managed by founding member organisation Canadian Journalists for Free Expression (CJFE).

The three main areas of work for the staff are: Information and Audience Engagement; Campaigns and Advocacy; and Member and Network Development.
  • The Information and Audience Engagement team amplifies the reach and impact of IFEX member voices and creates original, engaging material to foster a broader and deeper understanding of the right to freedom of expression and information. It is responsible for IFEX communications channels including the website and social media.
  • The Campaigns and Advocacy team develops network-wide campaigns and strategies that support and build on the actions of individual IFEX members and regional networks, seizing opportunities where we can have the most collective and measurable impact – including IFEX’s flagship campaign to end impunity.
  • The Member and Network Development team supports the strengthening of IFEX members, regional networks, and the IFEX network as a whole. This is accomplished through direct support to members, convening skills exchanges and learning opportunities, self-serve organisational strengthening resources, and peer networking, as well as through meetings of regional networks and the biannual IFEX Strategy Conference.
IFEX Staff

Annie Game
IFEX Executive Director

Rachael Kay
IFEX Deputy Executive Director

Maureen James
Head of Funding and Strategy Development

Leslie de Freitas
Head of Information and Audience Engagement

Heather Orrange
Head of Campaigns and Advocacy

Juan Pablo de Dovitiis
Online Editor

Christian Oquendo Sánchez
IFEX-ALC Coordinator

Marianna Tzabiras
Section Editor, Asia & Pacific and Digital Rights

Erin Woycik
Section Editor, Americas

Caro Rolando
Section Editor, Africa, Europe & Central Asia

Hiba Zayadin
Section Editor, Middle East & North Africa

Elena Romanova
Finance and Office Systems Administrator

Latest Tweet:

#Guatemala debe tomar en cuenta periodistas y comunicadores en plan para programa de protección | @cerigua