Sign up for weekly updates


Canadian Journalists for Free Expression (CJFE) is seeking nominations for the 2007 CJFE International Press Freedom Awards and the Tara Singh Hayer Memorial Award, which honour journalists who demonstrate extraordinary courage in producing the news.

The International Press Freedom Awards recognise two journalists or media outlets from anywhere in the world who have overcome enormous odds to report the news and demonstrate a commitment to human rights by reporting without bias or discrimination.

CJFE also awards The Tara Singh Hayer Memorial Award to recognise a Canadian journalist who has highlighted or faced media repression in Canada or around the world, such as fighting access to information laws or suffering censorship or physical reprisals to promote the principle of a free press. The award is named after a Canadian journalist and editor of the Vancouver-based "Indo-Canadian Times", who was assassinated in November 1998.

Each award consists of a framed plaque and cash prize of CDN$3,000 (US$2,730), to be presented to the winners at a ceremony in Toronto, Canada in November 2007.

The deadline for nominations is 20 June 2007.

For more details, see:

(15 May 2007)

Latest Tweet:

#Argentina: Intendente Claudio Filippa pide a hombres solteros que "abusen" de una periodista - @FOPEA @vanis

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.