Sign up for weekly updates


Trevor Ncube, chief executive of the "only private and critical newspapers still published in Zimbabwe," and journalists Hrant Dink and Anna Politkovskaya, who were killed as a result of their work, are this year's winners of the International Publishers Association (IPA) Freedom Prize.

Ncube was honoured for his support of free expression and his courage as publisher of "The Zimbabwe Independent", "The Standard" and "The Mail and Guardian". "Despite repeated threats of violence and attempts to strip him of his Zimbabwean citizenship, Trevor Ncube's newspapers have persistently continued to expose corruption and human rights abuses in Zimbabwe, thus encouraging healthy dissent and criticism," said Ana Cabanellas, president of IPA.

This year, IPA is also honouring Hrant Dink and Anna Politkovskaya with a special Freedom Prize to "celebrate their courage, their humanity, and their witness." Previously convicted for "insulting Turkishness," Dink was editor of the Armenian-Turkish weekly "Agos", which provided a voice for the Armenian community. He was shot dead in front of his Istanbul office in January.

Politkovskaya, an investigative journalist for the independent Moscow paper "Novaya Gazeta", often experienced the wrath of authorities for reporting on human rights abuses by the Russian military in Chechnya. She was murdered outside of her home in Moscow in October 2006.

The IPA Freedom Prize will be presented during the opening ceremony of the 2nd Cape Town Book Fair on 15 June 2007. For more on this event, whose theme for 2007 is "More than Black on White", see:

(22 May 2007)

Latest Tweet:

Indonesia: @AJIIndonesia documented 64 cases of violence directed against members of the press in 2018.…

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.