Sign up for weekly updates

West African journalists invited to apply for Norbert Zongo prize

Journalists from West Africa are invited to apply for the Norbert Zongo investigative journalism prize, created in memory of the journalist and press freedom advocate from Burkina Faso assassinated in December 1998. The deadline for entries is 30 September 2009.

Awards of 1 million CFA Francs (US$2,200) each will be given in three categories: newspapers, radio and television. An additional US$2,200 will be awarded to the first prize overall. Work must have been broadcast between 3 May 2008 and 3 May 2009.

For more information and eligibility, see the

website of the Centre National de Presse Norbert Zongo

Latest Tweet:

Malaysia: @CIJ_Malaysia is concerned over the use of the Sedition Act to arrest individuals for posting comments on…

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.