Sign up for weekly updates

IWMF is calling for candidates for awards and fellowship

The International Women's Media Foundation (IWMF) is seeking nominations for its annual Courage in Journalism Awards, the only international awards that recognise the bravery of women journalists. "Nominees risk political persecution, physical injury and death in their efforts to expose corruption and champion human rights." Candidates can be full-time, part-time or freelance women journalists working in print, broadcast or online media in any country, and must be nominated by colleagues, employers, journalists or others.

Deadline for Courage nominations: 5 March 2010

In addition, full-time, part-time or freelance journalists working on human rights or social justice issues are eligible for the IWMF Elizabeth Neuffer Fellowship. Recipients spend nine months in a customised academic research program at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and may also work with the "Boston Globe" or "The New York Times" during the fellowship.

Deadline for Neuffer applications: 9 April 2010


Latest Tweet:

#EstadosUnidos: Agentes fronterizos interrogaron a varios periodistas sobre la cobertura del tema de los inmigrante…

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.