Sign up for weekly updates

UNESCO World Press Freedom Prize open for nominations

Guillermo Cano
Guillermo Cano


Organisations working in the field of journalism and free expression are invited to submit nominations for the 2011 UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize. The deadline for submissions is 15 February 2011.

Named in tribute to the Colombian journalist who was killed in 1986 for criticising the country's drug lords, the US$25,000 award honours a journalist or organisation that has made a notable contribution to the defence and promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if this involved risk.

Last year's award went to Chilean journalist Mónica González Mujica, who investigated human rights violations of General Augusto Pinochet and his family, and was imprisoned and tortured for her work from 1984 to 1985.

The award will be presented on 3 May 2011 in Washington D.C. on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day. This year's theme is 21st century media.

For more information and nomination forms, click here.

Latest Tweet:

Ni "chairos" ni "fifís"; Frente a la estigmatización de la prensa, funcionarios/as deben reconocer su aporte a la d…

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.