Sign up for weekly updates

Journalist sentenced to two years in prison

UPDATE: Two journalist's names were listed among pardoned prisoners by the president (JuHI, 26 December 2012)

(IRFS/IFEX) – 12 June 2012 – The Institute for Reporters' Freedom and Safety (IRFS) condemns the two-year sentence given to Anar Bayramli, an Azerbaijani citizen and correspondent of Iranian Sahar TV in Baku.

Anar Bayramli was arrested on February 17, 2012, by five police officers, who gave no reason for the arrest, and was taken to Binagady Police Office #4. Later his family members contacted the police and were told that the police had found 0.0387 grams of heroin in his pocket. He was charged under Article 234.1 of the Criminal Code (illegal manufacturing, purchase, possession, transportation, transfer or selling of narcotics, and psychotropic substances). He was sentenced to two months of pre-trial detention and was not provided with a lawyer until three days after his arrest.

In the closing arguments of his trial, Bayramli stated his innocence, and declared that he is a victim of slander, targeted for his work as a journalist. However, after some deliberation judge Tarlan Akbarov announced his decision, sentencing Bayramli to two years in jail.

IRFS believes that Bayramli is the victim of the recent deterioration in Azerbaijani-Iranian relations. Sahar TV broadcasts in Azerbaijani and covers political and social problems in Azerbaijan. It is frequently critical of the government. The Azerbaijani government suspects Sahar TV of fomenting unrest, on multiple occasions has put pressure on the broadcaster and journalists.

IRFS deems it unacceptable to arrest a journalist on trumped-up charges regardless of what political tension there may be.

Currently the following journalists are in custody on charges widely agreed to be trumped-up: Khural newspaper editor-in-chief Avaz Zeynalli, Khural correspondent Aydin Janiyev, website editor-in-chief Ramin Bayramli, Khayal TV correspondents Vugar Gonagov and Zaur Guliyev, Transparency magazine editor-in-chief Ogtay Gulaliyev, and website editor-in-chief Nijat Aliyev.
What other IFEX members are saying
Case history

Latest Tweet:

Javier Ortega, Paúl Rivas y Efraín Segarra fueron homenajeados en #PerDebate18 @FUNDAMEDIOS…

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.