Sign up for weekly updates

Three writers released under amnesty

(Mizzima/IFEX) - Two writers and one journal office administrator were included among political prisoners released on 12 October 2011 under Burma's presidential amnesty.

Set free were Lay Lay Mon, also known as Phoo Ngone, freed from Shwebo Prison in Sagaing Region; "Myanmar Nation" journal office administrator Sein Win Maung, also known as Win Swe, released from Kengtung Prison in Shan State; and writer Hla Soe, released from Mandalay Prison.

Writer Lay Lay Mon, 40, who is from South Dagon Township in Rangoon, worked for "Teenager Magazine". She was arrested for participating in demonstrations in 2007 and was sentenced to six years in prison.

Sein Win Maung, 54, from Khayam Township in Rangoon, was arrested in 2008 and was sentenced to seven years in prison under Section 17/20 of the Printing Act. Sein Win Maung and "Myanmar Nation" chief editor Thet Zin were arrested after a Military Affairs Security Unit seized a CD of protests by Buddhist monks. Thet Zin was released under an amnesty in September 2009.

Hla Soe from Amarapura Township in Mandalay Region was arrested for having illegal associations while he was compiling information regarding the Depayin Massacre. He was sentenced to 17 years in prison in 2003.
What other IFEX members are saying
Related stories on
Case history

Latest Tweet:

Malaysia: @CIJ_Malaysia is concerned over the use of the Sedition Act to arrest individuals for posting comments on…

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.