Sign up for weekly updates

Eastern Europe press freedom awards 2011

The Norway-based Fritt Ord Foundation (Freedom of Expression Foundation) and the German-based ZEIT Foundation have put out a call for nominations for awards to support press freedom and independent media in Eastern Europe. Newspapers, Internet media and journalists from Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan and the South Caucasus who strive to promote a free press, free speech and liberal civil societies are eligible to apply.

The Gerd Bucerius Free Press of Eastern Europe Award and the Freedom of Expression Foundation's Press Prize for Russia aim to support the independent role of journalists who, despite reprisals and financial difficulties, are not intimidated by censorship and resist self-censorship.

Newspapers must demonstrate broad editorial initiatives in at least three areas, one of which should be foreign policy. They should demonstrate balanced coverage in political, cultural, economic and social affairs, showing a commitment to democracy, international understanding and freedom of expression.

The prizes for newspapers are for amounts of up to 40 000 Euros, and to journalists, 10 000 Euros.

Deadline: 17 October.

The prizes will be awarded on 15 June 2011 in Oslo.

For more information, see:

Fritt Ord

Latest Tweet:

Several journalists say US border agents questioned them about migrant coverage…

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.