Sign up for weekly updates

Eastern European press freedom awards 2010

The Norway-based Fritt Ord Foundation (Freedom of Expression Foundation) and the German-based ZEIT Foundation have put out a call for nominations for awards to support press freedom and independent media in Eastern Europe.
Newspapers, Internet media and journalists from Russia, Belarus, Georgia, Azerbaijan and South Caucasus who strive to promote a free press, free speech and liberal civil societies are eligible to apply.

Fritt Ord's Prize "Free Press of Russia" and the Gerd Bucerius Prize "Free Press of Eastern Europe" aim to strengthen the independent role of journalists who, despite reprisals and financial hardships, continue to resist self-censorship.

The newspapers should demonstrate broad editorial initiatives in at least three areas, one of which should be foreign policy. They should be able to demonstrate balanced coverage of political, cultural, economic and social affairs. They must show a commitment to democracy, international understanding and freedom of expression. Several prizes are given each year to newspapers or Internet media. In addition, special prizes are awarded to journalists. The prize money for newspapers is for an amount of up to EUR 40 000, and for journalists, EUR 10 000.

The prizes will be awarded in Hamburg on 19 May 2010.

The deadline for nominations is 19 October 2009.

For more information, contact:
Bente Roalsvig at telephone +47 23 01 46 43, email: bente.roalsvig (@),

Latest Tweet:

Our members @PENAmerican, @pen_int + a coalition of human rights and film orgs are demanding that the unfair crimin…

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.