Sign up for weekly updates

Eastern Europeans invited to apply for the Gerd Bucerius Free Press award

Journalists and media in Eastern Europe that support press freedom are invited to apply for the Gerd Bucerius Free Press award. The deadline for applications is 24 October 2011.

Newspapers, Internet media and journalists from Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan and Armenia who strive to promote a free press, free speech and liberal civil societies are eligible to apply for the awards, with prizes in amounts up to 40,000 Euros (US$54,400).

The award, sponsored by ZEIT-Stiftung in Germany and its Norwegian partner Fritt Ord, aims to support journalists and media organisations that, despite reprisals and economic hardships, are not intimidated by censorship and resist self-censorship.

Past winners include Roman Shleynov from the Russian weekly "Novaya Gazeta", and "Gazeta Slonimskaya" from Slonim, Belarus.

See the document below for information on how to apply.
gerd_bucerius_press_prizes_eng.pdf (17 KB)

Latest Tweet:

A Kafkaesque trial in #Turkey, #Facebook and free expression, #Philippine website under indictment, and more... che…

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.