Sign up for weekly updates


Journalists from the Middle East and North Africa are invited to apply for the third Samir Kassir Award for Freedom of the Press, which aims to promote media freedom and the rule of law in the region.

The Freedom of the Press Journalist award of 15,000 Euros (US$22,000) is open to print or online journalists from the following counties: Algeria, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Qatar, Syria, the Palestinian Territories, Tunisia and Yemen.

Candidates must submit work published between 15 March 2007 and 15 March 2008 that tackled issues of the rule of law - good governance, struggle against corruption, freedom of expression and human rights.

A Young Researcher award of 10,000 Euros (US$14,700) will also be conferred to a university student under 35 (born on or after 2 June 1973), who is a national from one of the countries listed above, for a dissertation or thesis written during 2007 that addresses the rule of law or press freedom.

Samir Kassir is a Lebanese journalist who was assassinated in 2005 by unknown assailants for criticising Syria's policy towards Lebanon. The award in his name is given each year by the European Commission Delegation in Lebanon, in association with the Samir Kassir Foundation.

The deadline for entries is 30 March 2008.

For more information, including application forms, visit: or email: coordination(@)prixsamirkassir(.)org

(22 January 2008)

Latest Tweet:

Hong Kong: "What started as a gagging policy against the so-call independence advocates is claiming more victims, w…

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.