Sign up for weekly updates


Organisations working in the field of journalism and free expression are invited to submit nominations for the 2009 UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize. The deadline for submissions is 15 January 2009.

Named in tribute to the Colombian journalist who was killed in 1986 for criticising the country's drug lords, the US$25,000 award honours a journalist or organisation that has made a notable contribution to the defence and promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if this involved risk.

Last year's award went to Lydia Cacho, a Mexican reporter who has been the target of death threats, sabotage, defamation suits and police harassment because of her work uncovering prostitution and child pornography networks.

The award will be presented on 3 May 2009 in Qatar on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day.

Organisations can nominate a maximum of three candidates. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Download a nomination form here:

For more information, visit:

(3 December 2008)

Latest Tweet:

Malaysia: @CIJ_Malaysia is concerned over the use of the Sedition Act to arrest individuals for posting comments on…

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.