Sign up for weekly updates

CJFE honours Mexican and Cameroonian journalists with 2010 International Press Freedom Awards

Canadian Journalists for Free Expression (CJFE) is honouring five international journalists from Mexico and Cameroon with its 2010 International Press Freedom Awards. The awards will be given at this year's 25 November gala, A Night to Honour Fearless Reporting.

"The journalists we are honouring have bravely put their personal safety at risk to tell stories the world needs to hear," said CJFE. "Our 2010 honourees have defiantly devoted themselves to freedom of expression, proving that the truth will not be silenced. Sadly, one of our awards will be presented posthumously and two in absentia, underscoring the high price that these journalists have paid."

Luis Horacio Nájera (Mexico) spent more than 10 years reporting on government corruption and trafficking of drugs, people and weapons. Fearing for his life, he was forced to seek asylum in Canada. Emilio Gutierrez Soto (Mexico) wrote several stories that offended the Mexican military; he was forced to flee the country and seek asylum in the United States. In Cameroon, journalists Serge Sabouang, Robert Mintya and Bibi Ngota were arrested in February 2010 after obtaining a government document that allegedly implicates a top presidential aide of influence peddling and corruption. Ngota died in prison from undisclosed causes on 22 April 2010. Sabouang and Mintya are being held at a pre-trial detention centre and face up to 15 years in jail.

Related stories on

Latest Tweet:

Media groups in and out of the Philippines, including IFEX members, expressed support to @rapplerdotcom and…

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.