المناطق:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

معلومات البلد أساسية

حيثما يسود 'ملك الإفلات من العقاب": لمحة عن رئيس غامبيا

توفر المعلومات الأساسية للبلاد من حملتنا لا للإفلات من العقاب نظرة متعمقة لحالة حرية التعبير في غامبيا، في ظل حكم الرئيس السابق يحيى جامع.

 
رئيس جامبيا يحيى جامع بتاريخ 22 أيلول 2006، في الوسط، خارجاً من أحد مراكز الاقتراع وسط بانجول بعد الادلاء بصوته لمنصب الرئيس،
رئيس جامبيا يحيى جامع بتاريخ 22 أيلول 2006، في الوسط، خارجاً من أحد مراكز الاقتراع وسط بانجول بعد الادلاء بصوته لمنصب الرئيس،

AP Photo/Rebecca Blackwell, FILE

سوف اقتل كل من يريد زعزعة استقرار هذا البلد. إذا كنت تعتقد انه يمكنك التعاون مع ما يسمى بالمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان وتفلت من العقاب، فانت تعيش في عالم الأحلام. سوف أقتلك، ولن تحقق شيئاً.
الرئيس يحيى جامع، أيلول 2009


نظرة عامة

غامبيا هي البلد الأصغر والأكثر كثافة سكانية في القارة الأفريقية، كما انها مقصد سياحي شهير. ولكن تحت المثالية السطحية هناك خفاء مظلم حيث تفترس القوات الشبه عسكرية أولئك الذين يتحدثون علنا ضد الرئيس يحيى جامع، كما تقوم بقتل وتعذيب واخفاء الصحفيين ونشطاء المعارضة. كما أن الحكومة لم تستجب لدعوات المجتمعات المحلية والدولية من أجل وضع حد للإفلات من العقاب لهذه الانتهاكات.

العاصمة:

بانجول

عدد السكان:

1.991 مليون نسمة

الناتج المحلي الإجمالي

9,058 مليون دولار أمريكي


الحكومة:

تحالف من أجل إعادة التوجيه الوطني والبناء من الرئيس يحيى جامع – الذي تولى الحكم في انقلاب عسكري عام 1994. تم انتخاب جامع كرئيس عام 1996 ثم أعيد انتخابه في أعوام 2001، 2006، و 2011 وكسب بأغلبية كبيرة، ولكن تم انتقاد الانتخابات لعدم كونها حرة أو نزيهة، وشابها تقارير حول الترهيب.


عضو في:

الجماعة الاقتصادية لدول غرب أفريقيا (إيكواس)، الاتحاد الأفريقي، الأمم المتحدة.


أعضاء آيفكس الذين يعملون في البلد:

جمعية صحفيين غرب أفريقيا

مؤسسة حرية الإعلام في غرب أفريقيا


مؤشر حرية الصحافة:

مؤشر مراسلون بلا حدود العالمي لحرية الصحافة 2016: 145 من أصل 178 بلد






نظام من التهديدات والاعتقالات والتعذيب والاختفاء والوفاة

في عام 1994، قامت مجموعة من الضباط بقيادة الملازم الشاب يحيى جامع بالاستيلاء على السلطة من خلال انقلاب غير دموي. ولا زال يستولي على السلطة بالرغم من حدوث أربع محاولات انقلاب. في شهر تشرين الثاني من عام 2011، انتخب لولاية رابعة وسط تقارير حول التخويف الذي مارسه على نطاق واسع. وتم الرد على المظاهرات التي تطالب بالإصلاح الانتخابي قبل الانتخابات الرئاسية في شهر كانون الأول عام 2016 بشكل قاسي. ففي شهر نيسان من عام 2016، تم القبض على أعضاء من حزب المعارضة خلال مظاهرة سلمية. وتوفي اثنان منهم في السجن: سولو ساندينج الذي توفي بعد فترة وجيزة من اعتقاله بشهر نيسان، وابريما سولو كروماه في شهر آب عام 2016. الأمر الذي أدى مفوض الأمم المتحدة السامي لحقوق الإنسان بالدعوة إلى إجراء تحقيق كامل في وفاتهما.

وقالت المؤسسة الإعلامية لغرب أفريقيا في شهر تموز من عام 2016: "إن الحكومة الغامبية لا تتسامح مع المعارضة وترتكب انتهاكات خطيرة لحقوق الإنسان". واشارت المؤسسة إلى أن أعداد الاعتقالات والاختفاء والتعذيب وحالات الوفاة في السجن للصحفيين والشخصيات المعارضة ثابتة طوال أكثر من عقدين من حكم جامع. وقد نسبت العديد من هذه الجرائم إلى مجموعة شبه عسكرية معروفة باسم "جانجلرز"، وهي وحدة النخبة الذين يأخذون أوامرهم مباشرة من الرئيس، كما هو موضح في تقرير شامل لمنظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش في عام 2015.

إن الوضع صعب أيضاً بالنسبة للأشخاص المثليين والمتحولين جنيسا في غامبيا. حيث يتم استهدافهم بخطاب الكراهية، على الاقل من الرئيس جامع نفسه الذي قال علناً في شهر ايار من عام 2015 أنه "سيذبح" مثلي الجنس في غامبيا. إن عقوبة المثلية الجنسية كانت السجن لمدة 14 عاما، وارتفعت إلى السجن المؤبد "للمثلية المتفاقمة" في تشرين الثاني من عام 2014. وفي غضون أسابيع، اعتقلت القوات الحكومية ثمانية أشخاص كانوا محتجزين في أماكن سرية، وتعرضوا للتعذيب. كما أن العديد غيرهم تعرضوا للمضايقات والتهديد.

التقطت هذه الصورة بتاريخ 23 تشرين الأول 2013، وتظهر الحاجي، وهو لاجئ، في داكار، بالسنغال. هرب الحاجي من منزله في غامبيا بعام 2012 بعد تعرضه للضرب والمحاكمة والاضطهاد لكونه مثلي الجنس
التقطت هذه الصورة بتاريخ 23 تشرين الأول 2013، وتظهر الحاجي، وهو لاجئ، في داكار، بالسنغال. هرب الحاجي من منزله في غامبيا بعام 2012 بعد تعرضه للضرب والمحاكمة والاضطهاد لكونه مثلي الجنس

AP Photo/Jane Hahn


الاستهداف الممنهج للصحفيين ووسائل الإعلام

شرحت منظمة المادة 19 وضع حرية التعبير في غامبيا في حزيران 2015 قائلة: "إن الاستهداف المنظم بحق المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والمجتمع المدني والصحفيين من قبل وكالة الاستخبارات الوطنية، وبما يشتمل على عمليات الإعدام الخارجة عن نطاق القضاء، والاعتقالات التعسفية، والتعذيب ...يحافظ على مناخ الخوف". حيث تعرض الصحفيون للقتل والاعتقال، وتم نفي أكثر من 100 منهم.
تشتمل الحالات البارزة على:

ديدا هيدارا، محررة في صحيفة ذا بوينت، وقتلت بالرصاص في عام 2004 من قبل جانجلرز وفقاً لما يُقال.
موسى سيد خان، رئيس تحرير صحيفة الاندبندنت، ألقي القبض عليه في عام 2006. تم احتجازه لمدة 22 يوما تعرض خلالها للتعذيب الشديد.
الصحفي إبريما مانه، يعتبر في عداد المفقودين بعد اعتقاله من قبل ضباط وكالة الاستخبارات الوطنية في عام 2006. ولا يزال مكان وجوده مجهولا.
• العاجي عبدولي سيسي، وهو مذيع ألقي القبض عليه في عام 2015، وتمت محاكمته بتهمة الفتنة. وتعرض للتعذيب الشديد.

تكفل المادة 25 من دستور غامبيا حرية التعبير، ولكن في الممارسة يتم انتهاك هذا الحق على نطاق واسع. إن الفتنة والتشهير ونشر معلومات كاذبة جميعها جرائم جنائية، وفي السنوات الأخيرة ازداد المناخ القاسي لوسائل الإعلام. وتم مراجعة قانون المعلومات والاتصالات في عام 2013 لاضافة الحكم بالسجن لمدة 15 عاما لاستخدام شبكة الإنترنت من أجلل نشر مثل هذه المعلومات. وفي نفس العام، تم مراجعة القانون الجنائي أيضاً لتشديد العقوبات على إعطاء "معلومات كاذبة إلى الموظفين الحكوميين" من السجن لمدة ستة أشهر إلى السجن لمدة خمس سنوات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن قانون الصحف يطالب بدفعات مالية كبيرة لضمان تسجيل وسائل الإعلام من جهة، ويفرض عقوبات شديدة على عدم التسجيل، مما يؤثر بشدة على تنوع وسائل الإعلام. لقد أدى مضايقة الصحافة وتدخل الحكومة إلى لجوء العديد من الصحفيين للعمل من الخارج، وتقديم الأخبار عبر شبكة الإنترنت. كما فرضت الحكومة الحظر ومنعت الوصول إلى المواقع الأجنبية، وأصبح وصول المواطنين في غامبيا إلى مصادر الأخبار محدود للغاية.


تجاهل النداءات الدولية لوضع حد للإفلات الجناة من العقاب

لم يُعرف عن أي مسؤول تمت محاكمته لانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. ويُتَعزم إنشاء لجنة وطنية لحقوق الإنسان. كما أن التدخلات من الهيئات الدولية تم تجاهلها على الدوام.

ومن بين هذه النداءات، أحكام اللجنة الاقتصادية للدول الاقتصادية (إيكواس) التي غامبيا عضوة فيها. ففي عام 2011، حكمت بأن الحكومة الغامبية قد فشلت في التحقيق بوفاة الصحافية ديدا هيدارا بشكل صحيح، وطالبت بدفع 50,000 $ كتعويضات لعائلة هيدارا بالاضافة إلى التكاليف القانونية. وفي عام 2010، طالبت بمنح الصحافي موسى سيد خان 200,000 $ كتعويض عن الأضرار الناجمة عن التعذيب الذي تعرض له. وحكمت المحكمة أيضا بدفع 100,000 $ لعائلة الصحافي المختفي إبريما مانه.

وبالمثل، فقد تم عدم احترام القرارات الصادرة عن اللجنة الأفريقية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب، ولم تقدم غامبيا تقارير عن تنفيذها لميثاق اللجنة لأكثر من 20 عاما، على الرغم من أن مقرها في العاصمة الغامبية بانجول.

كما تم تجاهل الأمم المتحدة مرارا وتكرارا. حيث ان النداءات المقدمة من الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون، والمفوض السامي لحقوق الإنسان بالتحقيق في حالات الوفاة أثناء الاحتجاز تم الرد عليها بطلب "التوقف عن التدخل في الشؤون الداخلية للبلاد". وفي تشرين الثاني من عام 2014، أعيقت زيارة المقررين الخاصين للأمم المتحدة بالتعذيب والإعدام الخارج عن نطاق القضاء إلى غامبيا بسبب "تحديات خطيرة فيما يتعلق بالوصول الغير مقيد ومناخ التوجس والخوف حتى من كثير من الاشخاص الذين يعملون معنا".

إن مناخ حرية التعبير في غامبيا ساماً، كما أن التطلع إلى وضع حد للإفلات من العقاب لمرتكبي الانتهاكات قاتم. ولكن هناك مدافعون عن حقوق الإنسان في غامبيا وخارجها يرفضون أن يبقوا عاجزين في صمت، وهنالك الذين يعملون مع الدعم الدولي على تغيير هذا الوضع.

المزيد من الموارد والمعلومات

موسى سيدخان وإبريما مانه: تقويض العدالة من قبل الدولة

إفريقيا 17 October 2016

في عام 2006، اعتُقِل الصحفيان الغامبيان موسى سيدخان وإبريما مانه بشكل منفصل من قبل عناصر حكومية في بانجول، غامبيا. تعرض سيدخان للتعذيب الوحشي، بينما اختفى مانه مع القليل من الظهور. وأصدرت محكمة المجتمع الاقتصادي لدول غرب إفريقيا (إيكواس) قرارات ضد غامبيا في كلتا القضيتين، وقالت بأن الدولة مذنبة لخرقها جنائيا حقوقهما وعليها تعويضهما. حتى الآن، لم تمتثل غامبيا لقرارات الحكم.

دولة الخوف: الاعتقال التعسفي والتعذيب والقتل

إفريقيا 15 September 2015

يقدم هذا التقرير لمحة عامة عن حالة حقوق الإنسان في البلاد منذ وصول الرئيس جامح إلى السلطة في عام 1994. ويوثق انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان من قبل قوات أمن الدولة والقوات الشبه عسكرية الموالية للحكومة، حيث تشتمل هذه الانتهاكات على الاعتقال التعسفي والاحتجاز والتعذيب وغيره من ضروب سوء المعاملة، والاختفاء القسري، والقتل الغير قانوني، وعلى دور الرئيس جامع في تسهيل هذه الانتهاكات.



 
انخرطوا الآن

من شبكتنا:

UN experts on enforced disappearance urge #Gambia to address past abuses to avoid repeat https://t.co/25slfRmuOK #NoImpunity #EbrimaManneh

REGIONS:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

Country Backgrounder

Where the 'King of Impunity' reigned: a profile of Jammeh's Gambia

On 1 December 2016, President Yahya Jammeh conceded defeat after being democratically deposed in the Gambia's national elections. Shortly thereafter he reversed his decision, citing alleged irregularities in the results. After intense domestic and international pressure urging Jammeh to accept the results - including a military intervention by ECOWAS states - he officially stepped down on 21 January 2017 and fled to Equatorial Guinea where he currently resides in exile.

 
Gambian President Yahya Jammeh, centre, leaves a central Banjul polling station after casting his vote for president, on 22 September 2006
Gambian President Yahya Jammeh, centre, leaves a central Banjul polling station after casting his vote for president, on 22 September 2006

AP Photo/Rebecca Blackwell, FILE

I will kill anyone who wants to destabilise this country. If you think that you can collaborate with so-called human rights defenders, and get away with it, you must be living in a dream world. I will kill you, and nothing will come out of it.
- President Yahya Jammeh
BBC News, September 2009


Overview

The smallest and most densely populated country on the African continent, the Gambia is a popular tourist destination. Yet, until recently, beneath the idyllic surface there was a dark undercurrent where paramilitaries preyed on those who spoke out against former President Yahya Jammeh and have killed, tortured and disappeared journalists and opposition activists. Calls from the local and international communities for an end to the impunity for these abuses have met with government intransigence.

Capital:

Banjul

Population:

1.991mi

GDP:

$850.9 USi


Government:

The United Democratic Party of President-elect Adama Barrow. Barrow defeated Yahya Jammeh's Alliance for Patriotic Reorientation and Construction in a national election on 2 December 2016.


Member of:

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), African Union, United Nations


IFEX members working in the country:

West African Journalists Association
Media Foundation for West Africa | mfwa.org


Press Freedom Ranking:

Reporters Without Borders Press Freedom Index 2016: 145 out of 178


A regime of threats, arrests, torture, disappearances and deaths

In 1994 a group of officers, led by a young Lieutenant Yahya Jammeh, seized power in a bloodless coup. He has held power ever since despite four coup attempts. In November 2011 he was elected to a fourth term amid reports of widespread intimidation. Demonstrations calling for electoral reform in the run up to December 2016 presidential elections were met with a harsh response. In April 2016 several opposition party members were arrested during a peaceful protest. Two of them were to die in prison; Solo Sandeng soon after his arrest in April, and Ebrima Solo Kurumah in August 2016, leading to the UN High Commissioner on Human Rights to call for a full investigation into their deaths.

'The Gambian government tolerates no dissent and commits serious human rights violations' said the Media Foundation of West Africa in July 2016, pointing to the steady toll of arrests, disappearance, torture and deaths in custody of journalists and opposition figures throughout Jammeh's more than two decades' rule. Many of these crimes have been attributed to a paramilitary group known as the 'Jungulers', an elite unit who take their orders directly from the President, as described in a comprehensive 2015 report by Human Rights Watch.

The situation for LGBTI people in the Gambia is also acute. They are targets of hate speech, not least from former President Jammeh himself, who in May 2015 said publicly that he would 'slit the throats' of gay people in the Gambia. The penalty for homosexuality, already a crime carrying a 14-year sentence, was increased to life imprisonment for 'aggravated homosexuality' in November 2014. Within weeks, state forces had arrested eight people, who were held in secret locales and allegedly tortured. Many more were harassed and threatened.

This photo from 23 October 2013 shows Alhaji, a refugee, in Dakar, Senegal. Alhaji fled his home in Gambia in 2012 after being beaten, tried, and persecuted for being gay
This photo from 23 October 2013 shows Alhaji, a refugee, in Dakar, Senegal. Alhaji fled his home in Gambia in 2012 after being beaten, tried, and persecuted for being gay

AP Photo/Jane Hahn


Journalists and the media systematically targeted

ARTICLE 19 encapsulated the situation for freedom of expression in Gambia in June 2015 as 'The systematic targeting of human rights defenders, civil society and journalists by the national intelligence agency, including extrajudicial executions, arbitrary arrests, and torture...'which '...sustains a climate of fear'. Journalists have been murdered and arrested, and more than 100 have gone into exile.
High profile cases include:

Deyda Hydara editor of The Point, shot dead in 2004, allegedly by Jungulers.
Musa Saidykhan, editor of The Independent newspaper, arrested in 2006. Held for 22 days during which time he suffered acute torture.
• 'Chief' Ebrima Manneh, went missing after being arrested by NIA officers in 2006. His whereabouts remain unknown.
Alhagie Abdoulie Ceesay a radio journalist, arrested in 2015 and tried for sedition. Reportedly severely tortured.

Article 25 of the Gambia's constitution guarantees freedom of expression, but in practice this right was widely flouted under Jammeh. Sedition, defamation and dissemination of false information are all criminal offences and in recent years the media climate has grown increasingly harsh. The Information and Communications Act was revised in 2013 to introduce a 15-year jail term for the use of the internet to spread such information. The same year, the Criminal Code was revised increasing penalties for giving 'false information to public servants' from six months to five years imprisonment. Additionally, the Newspaper Law demands large financial payments to secure media registration on the one hand, and heavy penalties for not registering on the other, severely impacting media diversity. Harassment of the press and government interference has led many journalists to resort to working from abroad, delivering news via the web. In turn the Jammeh government banned and blocked access to foreign sites, leaving Gambians' access to news sources extremely limited.


International calls to end impunity for perpetrators ignored

No officer is known to have been prosecuted for human rights abuses. Plans to set up a National Human Rights Commission have yet to materialise. Interventions from international bodies have been consistently ignored.

Among them are rulings by the Economic Community of Economic States (ECOWAS), of which the Gambia is a member. In 2011 it ruled that the Gambian government had failed to investigate the death of journalist Deyda Hydara properly, ordering $50,000 in reparations to Hydara's family as well as their legal costs. In 2010, it demanded that journalist Musa Saidykhan be awarded $200,000 damages for the torture he suffered. It also ruled that the family of disappeared journalist Ebrima Manneh be paid $US100,000 compensation.

Similarly resolutions from the African Commission on Human and People's Rights have been disregarded and the Gambia has not submitted reports on its implementation of the Commission's charter for over 20 years, despite its headquarters being based in the Gambian capital, Banjul.

The United Nations has also been repeatedly snubbed. Appeals from the UN Secretary General Ban Ki-Moon, and the High Commissioner for Human Rights for investigations into deaths in custody were met with the demand to 'desist from interfering in the internal domestic affairs of the country'. In November 2014, a visit to the Gambia by the UN special rapporteurs on torture and extra-judicial executions was hampered by 'serious challenges regarding unrestricted access and an overriding atmosphere of apprehension and even fear from many who engaged with us'.

The climate for free speech in the Gambia was toxic under Jammeh. It remains to be seen whether the new government will prioritise an end to impunity for those who carried out abuses. Yet there are human rights defenders in the Gambia and outside who have refused to be intimidated into silence and who, with international support, will continue to work to change this.

More Resources & Information

Musa Saidykhan and Ebrima Manneh: Justice Subverted by the State

Africa IFEX 17 October 2016

In 2006, Gambian journalists Musa Saidykhan and Ebrima Manneh were separately arrested and detained by state agents in Banjul, Gambia. Saidykhan was subjected to brutal torture, while Manneh disappeared with little trace. The ECOWAS Community Court of Justice has issued judgements against the Gambia in both cases, finding the state guilty of criminally violating their rights and owing them recompense. To date, the Gambia has yet to comply with either ruling.

State of Fear: Arbitrary Arrests, Torture, and Killings

Africa Human Rights Watch 15 September 2015

This report provides an overview of the human rights situation in the country since President Jammeh came to power in 1994. It documents human rights abuses by state security forces and pro-government paramilitaries, including arbitrary arrest and detention, torture and other ill-treatment, enforced disappearance, unlawful killing, and the role of President Jammeh in facilitating these abuses.



ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Related stories on ifex.org
  • 22 years of Jammeh

    What's it really like to live 22 years under the shadow of a president responsible for a growing list of human rights violations?

  • Two years on, Gambia yet to comply with ECOWAS Court ruling on murder of Deyda Hydara

    Today June 10, 2016, marks two years after the ECOWAS Community Court of Justice found that the Gambian government failed to conduct a proper investigation into the murder of journalist Deyda Hydara.



 
Get Involved Now

Latest Tweet:

UN experts on enforced disappearance urge #Gambia to address past abuses to avoid repeat https://t.co/25slfRmuOK #NoImpunity #EbrimaManneh