RÉGIONS:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

Profile

Jineth Bedoya Lima: Chronique d'une justice à deux vitesses

En mai 2000, Jineth Bedoya Lima a été enlevée et agressée sexuellement alors qu’elle enquêtait sur une affaire en Colombie. Quinze ans plus tard, la justice ne fait que commencer.

Jineth Bedoya Lima est une journaliste d'investigation primée et une défenseure des droits des femmes victimes de violence en Colombie. Reconnue pour ses reportages sur les activités des paramilitaires colombiens, elle suivait un indice portant sur les allégations de ventes d'armes entre les paramilitaires et des fonctionnaires du gouvernement colombien dans une prison de sécurité maximale, le 25 mai 2000. Jineth a été enlevée de la prison, torturée et agressée sexuellement dans le seul but de faire passer un « message à la presse ».

Quinze ans plus tard,un seul auteur a été jugé pour ces crimes, et le cas de Jineth est devenu synonyme de l'impunité qui sévit dans le système judiciaire en Colombie. Bien que plusieurs auteurs ont été identifiés et appréhendés, obtenir des condamnations a été un processus très lent, et le pouvoir judiciaire a commis plusieurs erreurs.

En l'absence de justice, la Fondation pour la liberté de la presse (FLIP), membre de l'IFEX, a présenté une demande, en 2011, pour que la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l'homme se saisisse de l'affaire. Depuis, la Commission mène son enquête et attend, actuellement, la réponse du gouvernement colombien suite aux conclusions inculpant ce dernier, puisque des fonctionnaires étaient complices de cette attaque.

Loin d'être intimidée, Jineth est devenue une ardente défenseure de la liberté de la presse et des droits des femmes en Colombie et s'est servie de son combat pour mettre fin à la violence sexuelle contre les femmes, notamment dans le cadre de sa campagne « Maintenant ce n'est plus le moment de se taire ».


Acteurs clés

Jineth Bedoya Lima - Jineth Bedoya Lima, journaliste d’investigation et avocate des droits des femmes, défend la lutte des femmes victimes de violences sexuelles pour s’assurer que les affaires fassent l’objet d’une enquête et que les responsables soient traduits en justice.

Bureau du procureur général - Entité étatique principalement investit d’enquêter sur l’affaire Jineth Bedoya. Cette institution joue un rôle crucial dans la clarification des événements du 25 mai 2000 et pour établir les liens qui permettront de traduire les suspects potentiels en justice. Au cours de quinze années d’enquêtes, l’institution a rencontré plusieurs problèmes avec l’enquête criminelle suffisamment importants pour justifier trois changements de procureurs, de nombreux retards, et d’autres complications. Le procureur No 50 de la Division des droits de l’homme et du droit humanitaire international du Bureau du procureur général est actuellement chargé de l’affaire.

Mario Jaimes Mejía a avoué, le 2 février 2016, avoir été l’un des agresseurs de Jineth Bedoya. Après avoir quitté le Front 24 des FARC, il est devenu membre du groupe paramilitaire, Santander y sur del Cesar Autodefensas Unidas de Colombia (Forces unies d’autodéfense de Colombie, AUC). Au sein de ce groupe paramilitaire, il a commis plusieurs crimes, dont les massacres de 1998 à Barrancabermeja. Il a été arrêté et emprisonné pour ces crimes en 1999. Pendant son temps dans le pénitencier de Modelo à Bogotá, il est devenu l’un des dirigeants très redoutés de l’AUC au sein de la prison et un chef de la naissante « Capital Block », une organisation à qui l’on attribue plusieurs attaques contre des défenseurs des droits de l’homme à Bogota.

Jesús Ermiro Pereira - alias «Huevo de Pizca", était un membre de Autodefensas Campesinas de Córdoba y Urabá (Milices paysannes d'autodéfense de Córdoba et d'Urabá, ACCU). A son arrivée à Bogota, Jesús Pereira a établi des relations avec d’autres chefs paramilitaires au sein de la prison Modelo. On estime que ce sont ces relations qui l’ont amené à organiser, avec d’autres, l’attaque contre Jineth Bedoya.

Alejandro Cárdenas Orozco - Alejandro Cárdenas Orozco, alias « JJ », a été condamné pour l'enlèvement et la torture de Jineth Bedoya le 26 Février 2016. Cárdenas a rejoint les Milices paysannes d’autodéfense de Córdoba et d’Urabá en 1997, en devenant membre du Bloque Centuaros. Il est présumé qu’en 2000, alors qu’il se trouvait à Barranca de Upía, il a reçu l’ordre de se rendre à Bogotá pour participer à l’attaque contre Jineth Bedoya. En 2012, il a reconnu deux des trois accusations prononcées par le Bureau du procureur général, à savoir son rôle dans l’enlèvement et les actes de torture à l’encontre de Jineth Bedoya, mais a nié avoir participé à son agression sexuelle.

Le système interaméricain des Droits de l’Homme - Le système interaméricain des droits de l’homme est une entente régionale passée entre les pays de l’Organisation des États américains (OEA), dont la principale fonction est d’assurer le respect, la protection et l’application des droits de l’homme aux Amériques. À cette fin, le système interaméricain dispose de deux organes distincts complémentaires; à savoir, la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme (CIDH) et la Cour interaméricaine des droits de l’homme . Le cas de Jineth est en cours d’examen par la Commission après que la FLIP ait saisi la cour en 2011, en raison de l’inaction prolongée de la justice en Colombie.


Chronologie des Évènements

 
1998
Les premières menaces

Il est possible de retracer les premières menaces contre la journaliste Jineth Bedoya Lima à 1998. En août 1999, le gouvernement colombien propose de lui accorder des mesures de protection. Jineth accepte l’offre, mais ne bénéficie jamais d’une réelle protection.

 
2000
Enlèvement à la prison de La Modelo

Le 25 mai 2000, Jineth Bedoya est kidnappée, torturée et agressée sexuellement lors de son enquête sur la corruption dans la prison La Modelo.

 
Juin
Mesures de précaution

Le 2 Juin 2000, la Commission interaméricaine des Droits de l’Homme (CIDH) accorde des mesures de précaution à Jineth Bedoya Lima et à d’autres journalistes, basés sur une demande présentée par la Fondation pour la liberté de la presse (FLIP).

 
2003
Enlèvement par les Forces armées révolutionnaires de Colombie

Le 18 août 2003, Jineth est enlevée par les Forces armées révolutionnaires de Colombie (FARC) et détenue pendant cinq jours.

 
2009
« No Es Hora De Callar »

Jineth commence sa campagne, « No Es Hora De Callar » (Maintenant ce n’est plus le moment de se taire), qui vise à sensibiliser et à condamner la violence contre les femmes et en particulier les agressions sexuelles dans le cadre du conflit colombien.

 
2010
Contrainte de quitter la Colombie

En novembre 2010 Jineth est forcé de quitter la Colombie à la suite de plusieurs incidents, portant atteinte à sa sécurité, liés à ses activités journalistiques. Après la publication de son livre « Vida y Muerte del Mono Jojoy » (Vie et mort de Mono Jojoy), elle reçoit des menaces provenant des FARC, et des rumeurs circulent sur son enlèvement et son assassinat.

 
2011
La FLIP fournit un soutien juridique

Pendant les 11 années qui ont suivi son enlèvement, la torture et les agressions sexuelles, les autorités ont échoué à enquêter sur le crime, et à plusieurs reprises il a été demandé à Jineth Bedoya d’enquêter et d’identifier, par l’intermédiaire de son travail journalistique, qui était derrière sa propre attaque. En conséquence, la FLIP décide de lui fournir un soutien juridique au niveau national et international.

 
Juin
Le CIDH est saisie

En juin 2011, une demande est déposée pour que la CIDH se saisisse de l’affaire.

 
Juillet
Confession

En juillet 2011, Alejandro Cárdenas , membre du groupe paramilitaire, avoue, devant le procureur, sa participation à l’enlèvement et aux actes de torture de la journaliste Jineth Bedoya.

 
Octobre
Excuses publiques

En octobre 2011, dans les bureaux de la CIDH à Washington, des représentants du gouvernement colombien offrent des excuses publiques à Jineth Bedoya « pour ne pas avoir pris des mesures au moment opportun » et promettent que des changements seront apportés au déroulement de l’enquête.

 
2012
Un crime contre l’humanité

En septembre 2012, le procureur en fonction établit une relation entre trois anciens membres du groupe paramilitaire, à savoir : Mario Jaimes Mejía, alias « El Panadero » , Alejandro Cárdenas (JJ) et Jesús Pereira (Huevo de Pizca) et déclare que les actes menées contre la journaliste constituent un crime contre l'humanité.

 
2013
Transfert de juridiction: une année perdue

En 2013, l’enquête est reprise par une autre branche du Bureau du Procureur (Justice et Paix), qui détermine un an plus tard que l’affaire ne relève pas de sa compétence.

 
2014
Affaire classée

En juin 2014, le procureur décide de classer cette enquête avec les nombreuses menaces que Jineth Bedoya a rapportés.

 
Juillet
La CIDH se saisit de l’affaire

Le 21 juillet, la CIDH accepte de se saisir de l’affaire de Jineth Bedoya, obligeant l’État colombien à s’expliquer sa responsabilité concernant la violation des droits de la journaliste à la protection judiciaire, à la liberté d’expression et à l’intégrité personnelle, entre autres manquements.

 
Septembre
Inculpation de « El Panadero »

Le 26 septembre 2014, le procureur inculpe l’ancien membre du groupe paramilitaire, Mario Jaimes Mejía (El Panadero), pour enlèvement aggravé, torture et violences sexuelles aggravées.

 
2015
Report d’audience

Le 27 mars 2015, la Cinquième Cour pénale entend l’affaire contre Mario Jaimes Mejía. L’audience est initiée, mais reste au point mort en raison des demandes de reports avancés par l’accusé et le système judiciaire colombien.

 
Mai

Le 28 mai 2015, le procureur chargé de l’affaire de Jineth classe l’enquête avec l’affaire Alejandro Cárdenas, membres du groupe paramilitaire qui doit être libéré le 2 juin 2015, soit quelques jours plus tard.

 
Alejandro Cárdenas est arrêté une nouvelle fois

Devant l’indignation nationale, le Bureau du Procureur général adopte plusieurs positions en l’espace d’une semaine. Il annule finalement sa décision précédente et arrête de nouveau Alejandro Cárdenas.

 
Juin
L’affaire est confiée à une autre division du Bureau du procureur général

Le 11 juin, l’affaire est confiée au procureur No 50 de la Division des droits de l’homme du bureau du procureur général.

 
Juillet
Multiple reports d’audience

Le procès de Mario Jaimes Mejía ouvre officiellement le 13 juillet, mais est reporté à trois reprises (28 juillet, 10 septembre et 14 décembre). La date du prochain procès est fixée en février 2016.

 
Septembre
Alejandro Cárdenas and Jesús Pereira sont tradiuts en justice

Le 22 septembre, le procureur chargé de l’affaire décide de porter Alejandro Cárdenas et Jesús Pereira devant la justice.

 
Octobre
Réunion de travail de la FLIP

Dans le cadre de la 156e session de la CIDH, la FLIP accompagne la journaliste Jineth Bedoya Lima à une réunion de travail officielle pour démontrer l’impunité et les obstacles qui empêchent le bon déroulement de son procès.

 
2016
El Panadero confesse son rôle dans l’agression

Lors d’une audition publique en Colombie, le 2 février 2016, Mario Jaimes Mejía accepte une négociation de déclaration de culpabilité après avoir avoué sa responsabilité concernant tous les chefs d’accusation portés contre lui, reconnaissant ses actes de crime contre l’humanité, sans donner de détails sur ses complices ou d’autres circonstances de l’agression.

 
Février

NOUVELLE MISE À JOUR

Première condamnation

Le 26 février dernier, une première condamnation a été prononcée contre Alejandro Cárdenas Orozco, alias « J.J. », sanctionnée d’une peine de 11 ans de prison. Alejandro Cardenas a été reconnu coupable d’enlèvement et de torture, mais les poursuites pour agression sexuelle sont en cours.

 
Ce n’est pas un jour de fête. C’est un jour de vengeance...après 16 ans, il ne s’agit, ici, que de la première étape vers une justice digne de ce nom. La première étape d’une route encore très longue qui arrive au moment même où les deux plus importants journaux colombiens ont décidé de publier conjointement l’enquête interrompue par mon enlèvement"

Jineth Bedoya Lima via le Comité pour la protection des journalistes

 
Août

NOUVELLE MISE À JOUR

Justice alternative refusé pour “JJ” et “El Panadero”

Le 19 Août 2016, Mario Jaimes Mejía, alias " El Panadero “, et Alejandro Cardenas Orozco, alias "JJ”, se voient refuser des mécanismes alternatifs de justice par le biais du processus Justice et Paix par la Cour suprême . Le juge a déclaré que Cardenas et Jaimes avaient fourni des informations trompeuses dans le but de recevoir des peines moins sévères .


Ce que font les membres de l’IFEX

La Fondation pour la liberté de la presse a assisté Jineth devant la justice colombienne et à la commission régionale des droits de l'homme. La fondation mène activement campagne pour une meilleure protection des journalistes en Colombie et travaille à réduire le niveau d'impunité dans tout le pays.

Le Comité de protection des journalistes a plaidé pour que justice soit rendue dans l'affaire Jineth Lima depuis les premiers jours qui ont suivi son attaque. Récemment, une délégation du CPJ-FLIP a rencontré le président Santos pour exiger de mettre fin à l'impunité et que des progrès soient réalisés dans plusieurs affaires d'attaque contre des journalistes en Colombie, y compris celle de Jineth Bedoya Lima.

Plus de ressources et de renseignements

60 ans d’espionnage sur les journalistes en Colombie Colombie

Amériques 31 August 2014

Le 9e rapport annuel de la FLIP donne un aperçu de la situation sur la liberté de la presse en Colombie, y compris de l’utilisation croissante de la surveillance par le gouvernement.



 
Impliquez-vous maintenant
[]

Dernier Tweet :

Yet another journalist assassinated in Veracruz, bringing total to 22 in the state https://t.co/3tvMaRqicn #NoImpunity

REGIONS:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

CASE PROFILE

Jineth Bedoya Lima: A chronicle of justice delayed

In May of 2000, Jineth Bedoya Lima was abducted and sexually assaulted while investigating a story in Colombia. Fifteen years later, justice has only just begun to be served.

Jineth Bedoya Lima is an award-winning investigative journalist and an advocate for the rights of women victims of violence in Colombia. Recognized for her reporting on the activities of Colombian paramilitaries, she was following up on a lead about alleged arms sales between paramilitaries and Colombian state officials at a maximum-security prison on 25 May 2000. Jineth was abducted from the prison, tortured, and sexually assaulted as a “message to the press”.

Fifteen years later, the first two perpetrators have only just been convicted for these acts, and Jineth's case has become synonymous with the impunity that plagues Colombia's justice system. Although several perpetrators have been identified and apprehended, obtaining convictions has been a glacial process, and the judiciary has mishandled the case on several occasions.

In the absence of justice, the Foundation for Press Freedom (FLIP), an IFEX member, presented a petition to the Inter-American Commission for Human Rights in 2011. The case has been in progress at the Commission ever since and is currently awaiting the Colombian Government's response to findings regarding its culpability in the incident, considering the complicity of its state agents in the attacks.

Far from being intimidated from speaking out, Jineth herself has become a fervent advocate for press freedom and women's rights in Colombia, particularly through her “Now is not the time to be silent” campaign.

Key Actors

Jineth Bedoya Lima Investigative journalist and women’s rights advocate, is currently championing the struggles of women who have been victims of sexual violence, to ensure their cases are investigated and those responsible are brought to justice.

Office of the Attorney General is the State entity in charge of investigating the crimes against Jineth Bedoya. It has a crucial role in clarifying the events of 25 May 2000 and linking them to possible suspects in the case in order to bring them to justice. In the 15 years in which the case has been ongoing, there have been multiple problems with the criminal investigation conducted by this institution, resulting in three changes of prosecutors, delays, and other complications. Prosecutor No. 50 of the National Unit for Human Rights and International Humanitarian Law is currently responsible for the case.

Mario Jaimes Mejía alias “El Panadero”, was convicted for the kidnapping, sexual assault and torture of Jineth Bedoya on 18 March 2016. After being part of Front 24 of the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia (FARC), he joined the Santander and Sur del Cesar Autodefensas Unidas de Colombia (United Self-Defense Forces of Colombia, AUC). During this time, he committed several crimes, including the 1998 massacres in Barrancabermeja. He was arrested and imprisoned for these crimes in 1999. During his time in Bogotá’s Modelo penitentiary, he went on to become one of the highly-feared AUC leaders within the prison and head of the nascent ‘Capital Block’, a group that has been credited with attacks on several human rights defenders in Bogotá. Mejía confessed to being one of Bedoya’s attackers on 2 February 2016 and will serve a 28-year sentence for his crimes.

Jesús Emiro Pereira, alias “Huevo de pizca”, was a member of the Autodefensas Campesinas de Córdoba y Urabá (Peasant Self-Defense Forces of Córdoba and Urabá, ACCU). On his arrival in Bogotá, Jesús Pereira established relationships with other paramilitary leaders within the Modelo prison. It is through these relationships that it is believed he came to be one of the individuals tasked with the attack against Jineth Bedoya.

Alejandro Cárdenas Orozco, alias “J.J.”, was convicted for the kidnapping and torture of Jineth Bedoya on 26 February 2016. Cárdenas joined the Córdoba and Urabá self-defense groups in 1997, becoming a member of the Centauros Block. It is presumed that in 2000, while in Barranca de Upía, he received an order to travel to Bogotá to carry out the attack against Jineth Bedoya. In 2012, he admitted to two of the three accusations put forward by the Prosecutor’s Office, acknowledging his role in the kidnapping and torture of Jineth Bedoya, but denied having participated in the sexual assault.

The Inter-American Human Rights System is a regional arrangement that consists of the states of the Organization of American States (OAS), the main function of which is to ensure the respect, protection and realization of human rights in the Americas. To this end, the Inter-American System has two separate but complementary bodies; these are the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) and the Inter-American Court of Human Rights (IACrtHR). Jineth’s case is currently being studied by the IACHR after being presented to the court by FLIP in 2011 after prolonged inaction in Colombia.

Timeline of Events

 
1998
The First Threats

There is a history of threats against journalist Jineth Bedoya Lima dating back as far as 1998. In August 1999, the Colombian government offers to provide her with protective measures. Jineth accepts the offer but never receives a response from the State.

 
2000
Abducted from La Modelo Prison

On 25 May 2000, Jineth Bedoya is kidnapped, tortured and sexually assaulted while conducting an investigation into corruption in the La Modelo prison.

 
June
Precautionary Measures

On 2 June 2000, the Inter-American Commission on Human Right (IACHR) grants precautionary measures to Jineth Bedoya Lima and other journalists, based on a request submitted by the Foundation for Press Freedom (FLIP).

 
2003
Kidnapped by the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia

Jineth is kidnapped by the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia (FARC) and held for five days.

 
2009
“No Es Hora De Callar”

Jineth begins her campaign, “No Es Hora De Callar” (Now is not the time to be silent), which seeks to create awareness and condemn violence against women, especially sexual assaults within the framework of the Colombian conflict.

 
2010
Forced to Leave Colombia

In November 2010 Jineth is forced to leave Colombia as a result of several security incidents linked to her work as a journalist. Upon publishing her book “Vida y Muerte del Mono Jojoy” (Life and Death of Mono Jojoy), she receives threats originating from the FARC, along with information that she would be kidnapped and assassinated.

 
2011
FLIP Provides Legal Support

During the 11 years since her kidnapping, torture and sexual assault, the authorities failed to investigate the crime, and on several occasions Jineth Bedoya was asked to investigate and identify, via her journalistic work, who was behind her own attacks. As a result, FLIP provides her with legal support at the national and international level.

 
June
IACHR Petition

In June 2011, a petition regarding the case is filed with the IACHR.

 
July
The Confession

In July 2011, paramilitary group member Alejandro Cárdenas confesses before the Public Prosecutor to having participated in the kidnapping and torture of journalist Jineth Bedoya.

 
October
Public Apologies

(Spanish only) In October 2011, at the IACHR offices in Washington, Colombian government representatives offer public apologies to Jineth Bedoya “for not having taken action at the time” and promise to ensure that there are changes in the investigation.

 
September
Attack Declared Crime Against Humanity

In September 2012, the Public Prosecutor’s Office links three former paramilitary group members to the attacks, Mario Jaimes Mejía, alias ‘El Panadero’, Alejandro Cárdenas (J.J.) and Jesús Pereira (Huevo de Pizca) and declares the actions against the journalist to be a crime against humanity.

 
2013
The Case’s Jurisdiction Changes, A Year is Wasted

In 2013, a different branch of the Public Prosecutor’s Office (Justice and Peace) takes over the case. A year later, it is determined that the case does not fall within its jurisdiction.

 
2014
Investigations Shelved

In June 2014, the public prosecutor decides to shelve the investigations into the multiple threats that Jineth Bedoya has reported.

 
July
IACHR Accepts Case

On 21 July, the IACHR accepts Jineth Bedoya’s case, obliging the Colombian State to provide information regarding its responsibility in the violation of the journalist’s rights to judicial protection, freedom of expression, and personal integrity, among other shortcomings.

 
September
"El Panadero" Indicted

On 26 September 2014, the prosecutor indicts former paramilitary group member Mario Jaimes Mejía (El Panadero) for the crimes of aggravated kidnapping, aggravated torture and sexual violence.

 
2015

On 27 March 2015, the Fifth Criminal Court hears the case against Mario Jaimes Mejía. The hearing is initiated but never advances further due to requests for postponement brought forward by the both the accused and the Colombian judicial system.

 
May

(Spanish only) On 28 May 2015, the prosecutor responsible for Jineth's case shelves the investigation into the actions of paramilitary group member Alejandro Cárdenas. He is freed on 2 June.

 
Alejandro Cárdenas re-arrested

(Spanish only) Amid national outrage and within the space of a week, the Federal Public Prosecutor’s Office takes several different positions on the decision within the space of a week. It finally annuls the original decision and re-arrests Alejandro Cárdenas.

 
June
Case is Assigned to Yet Another Prosecutor’s Office

On 11 June, the case is assigned to Prosecutor No. 50 of the Human Rights Division of the Public Prosecutor’s Office.

 
July
Confession Obtained after Multiple Trial Postponements

The trial of Mario Jaimes Mejía formally opens on 13 July, but is postponed on three occasions (28 July, 10 September and 14 December).

 
September
Alejandro Cárdenas brought to trial

On 22 September, the prosecutor in charge of the case decides to bring Alejandro Cárdenas and Jesús Pereira to trial.

 
October
FLIP Working meeting

Within the framework of the IACHR’s 156th session, FLIP accompanies journalist Jineth Bedoya Lima in an official working meeting to demonstrate the impunity and obstacles to achieving justice in her case.

 
2016
El Panadero Confesses to His Role in the Attack

At a public hearing in Colombia on 2 February, Mario Jaimes Mejía accepts a plea bargain after confessing to all charges laid against him, acknowledging these as crimes against humanity but does not provide details about remaining perpetrators or other circumstances of the attack.

 
February
The First Conviction

On 26 February, the first conviction is handed down as Alejandro Cárdenas Orozco, alias 'J.J.' is sentenced to 11 years in prison. Cárdenas was found guilty of kidnap and torture, but the prosecution for sexual assault remains ongoing.

 
It's not a day of celebration. It's a day of vindication...After 16 years this is the first step toward real justice. It is the first in a long road, and it arrives just as the two most important newspapers in Colombia have decided to jointly publish the investigation that was cut off by my kidnapping"

Jineth Bedoya Lima via The Committee to Protect Journalists

 
March
The Second Conviction

On 18 March, the second conviction is handed down as Mario Jaimes Mejía alias “El Panadero”, is found guilty of kidnapping, sexual assault and torture and is sentenced to 28 years in prison, the maximum prison term for his crimes.

 
April
IACHR Public Hearing: 157th Period of Sessions

(Subtitled in English) On 5 April, Jineth Bedoya addresses the IACHR during the 157th Period of Sessions. Representatives of the Colombian Government express their willingness to cooperate with Jineth, but do not assume any responsibility for the mishandling of her case.

 
August
'JJ' and 'El Panadero' Denied Alternative Justice

On August 19 2016, Mario Jaimes Mejía alias "el panadero" and Alejandro Cardenas Orozco, alias "JJ" are denied alternative justice mechanisms through the Justice and Peace Process by the Supreme Court. The judge stated that both Cardenas and Jaimes had provided misleading information in an attempt to receive less severe sentences.

 
2017

NEW UPDATE

Jineth Brought Back to Court as Witness

On 1 March, Jineth takes the witness stand yet again after her testimony at the Supreme Court in Bogota is requested by Alejandro Cardenas and Jesus Pereira's lawyers and granted by the overseeing judge. For the 12th time, Jineth is forced to recount the story of her abduction and sexual assault, this time in the presence of Alejandro Cardenas Orozco. IFEX publishes a letter denouncing Jineth's revictimization which is formally submitted to Colombian authorities in Bogota. Journalists are denied access to the court following the judge's decision to invoke a clause limiting public access to more sensitive hearings.

What IFEX Members are doing

The Foundation for Press Freedom has been assisting with Jineth's case in the national courts and regional human rights commission. They actively campaign for better protections for journalists in Colombia and have committed to reducing the level of impunity country-wide.

The Committee to Protect Journalists has been advocating for justice for Jineth since the first days after her attack. Recently, a CPJ-FLIP delegation met with President Santos to demand an end to impunity and progress in several cases of attacks on journalists in Colombia, including that of Jineth Bedoya Lima.

More Resources & Information

60 Years of Spying on Journalists in Colombia

Americas Foundation for Press Freedom - FLIP 1 September 2015

FLIP’s 9th annual report provides an overview of the press freedom situation in Colombia, including the increasing use of state surveillance.



 
Get Involved Now
[]

Latest Tweet:

New video examines the life and death of Dr. #KemLey #NeverForget #NoImpunity #cambodia #politicskh #justicekh https://t.co/q2rQXB9Rsn