المناطق:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

قضية

جينيث بيدويا ليما: وقائع الحرمان من العدالة

في مي 2000، تم إختطاف والإعتداء على جينيث بدويا ليما أثناء بحثها في قضية في كولمبيا. أخيراً، وبعد مرور 15 عاماً، بدأ تحقيق العدالة في قضيتها.

جينيث بيدويا ليما هي صحفية استقصائية حائزة على جائزة ومدافعة عن حقوق ضحايا العنف من النساء في كولومبيا. وهي معروفة بتغطيتها لأنشطة الجماعات الشبه عسكرية الكولومبية، وتتابع في المقدمة مبيعات الأسلحة المزعومة بين القوات الشبه عسكرية ومسؤولين كولومبيين في سجن شديد الحراسة بتاريخ 25 أيار عام 2000، اختطفت جينيث من السجن وتعرضت للتعذيب والاعتداء الجنسي، وقيل لها بأن ذلك كان "رسالة للصحافة".

ببعد 15 عاماً، لقد تم الحكم على إحدى المرتكبين، وأصبحت قضية جينيث مثالاً للإفلات من العقاب الذي ابتلي به النظام القضائي في كولومبيا. ورغم التعرف على العديد من الجناة والقبض عليهم، مازالت عملية المحاكمة عليهم تسير ببطء شديد، وأساء القضاء التعامل في القضية بعدة مناسبات.

في غياب العدالة، قدم عضو آيفكس مؤسسة حرية الصحافة التماسا إلى لجنة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان في عام 2011. وكان التقدم في القضية يسير أسرع من أي وقت مضى، وحالياً في انتظار رد حكومة كولومبيا على نتائج اللجنة بأن الحكومة فشلت في ضمان تحقيق العدالة بقضية جينيث، نظراً لتورط رجال أمن الدولة في الاعتداء عليها.

بدلا من تخويفها من التحدث علناً، أصبحت جينيث مدافعة شرسة عن حرية الصحافة وحقوق المرأة في كولومبيا، واستخدمت نضالها كمانعة صواعق في الكفاح من أجل وضع حد للعنف الجنسي ضد المرأة، لا سيما من خلال حملتها "الان ليس الوقت المناسب لنكون صامتين".


الجدول الزمني للأحداث

جينيث بيدويا ليما، صحفية جينيث بيدويا ليما، صحفية استقصائية ومدافعة عن حقوق المرأة، وتناصر حاليا نضالات النساء اللواتي وقعن ضحايا العنف الجنسي، لضمان التحقيق في قضاياهم وجلب المسؤولين عنها إلى العدالة.

مكتب النائب العام هي المؤسسة الحكومية المسؤولة في المقام الأول عن التحقيق في جرائم ضد جينيث بيدويا. لها دور حاسم في توضيح أحداث 25 أيار 2000 وربط المشتبه بهم المحتملين في الجريمة من أجل تقديمهم للعدالة. خلال السنوات الـ 15 التي كانت القضية فيها مستمرة، كانت هناك مشاكل متعددة مع التحقيق الجنائي الذي أجرته هذه المؤسسة، مما أدى إلى تغيير النيابة العامة ثلاث مرات، والتأخير، وغيرها من التعقيدات. الوحدة الـ50 من شعبة حقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني الدولي في مكتب النائب العام هي المسؤولة حاليا عن هذه القضية.

ماريو خايميس ميخيا اتهم ميخيا بأنه أحد المعتدين على بيدويا. كونه عضو في الخط 24 للقوات الثورية المسلحة الكولومبية، انضم إلى مجموعة شبه عسكرية تدعى "قوات الدفاع الذاتي المتحدة في كولومبيا"، وشارك أثناء وجوده في هذه المجموعة الشبه عسكرية في العديد من الجرائم، بما في ذلك مذابح عام 1998 في بارانكابيرميا. ألقي القبض عليه وسجن بسبب هذه الجرائم في عام 1999. وخلال الفترة التي قضاها في سجون بوغوتا موديلو، أصبح واحد من أكثر قادة الجماعة الذي يخشونه بشل كبير داخل السجن ورئيس ما يسمى "عاصمة بلوك"، وهي المجموعة التي ساهمت بهجمات على عدد من المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان في بوغوتا.

خيسوس ايميرو بيريرا كان خيسوس بيريرا، الملقب " هويفو دي يسزكا" عضواً في "قوات الدفاع الذاتي عن الفلاحين في قرطبة وأورابا". لدى وصوله إلى بوغوتا، أنشئ خيسوس بيريرا علاقات مع قادة الجماعات الشبه عسكرية الأخرى داخل سجن موديلو. ومن خلال هذه العلاقات يُعتقد أنه جاء ليكون واحدا من الأفراد المكلفين بالهجوم على جينيث بيدويا.

اليخاندرو كارديناس أوروزكو انضم أليخاندرو كارديناس أوروزكو، الملقب ب "J.J"إلى مجموعات قرطبة وأورابا للدفاع الذاتي في عام 1997، ليصبح عضوا في"عاصمة البلوك". ويعتقد أنه بينما كان في بارنكا دي ابيا بعام 2000، تلقى أمرا بالسفر إلى بوغوتا لتنفيذ الاعتداء بحق جينيث بيدويا. في عام 2012، اعترف باثنتين من الاتهامات الثلاثة التي وجهها مكتب المدعي العام، معترفاً بدوره في اختطاف وتعذيب جينيث بيدويا، ولكن نفى أن يكون قد شارك في الاعتداء الجنسي عليها. لقد صدر الحكم على أليخاندرو كارديناس اوروزكو لاختطاف وتعذيب هينث بدويا، في ٢٦ فبراير ٢٠١٦

محكمة البلدان الأمريكية التابعة لحقوق الإنسان لجنة البلدان الأمريكية لمنظمة الدول الأمريكية هي المحكمة الإقليمية للدول في منظمة البلدان الأمريكية. وتتمثل مهمتها الرئيسية في ضمان احترام وحماية وتطبيق حقوق الإنسان في الأمريكتين. تحقيقا لهذه الغاية، لدى نظام البلدان الأمريكية هيئتين منفصلتين مكملتين. وهما لجنة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان ومحكمة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان ويجري حاليا دراسة قضية جينيث من قبل لجنة البلدان الأمريكية بعد الالتماس الذي قدمته مؤسسة حرية الصحافة في عام 2011 بسبب التراخي الذي طال أمده في كولومبيا.

 
1998
التهديدات الأولى

هناك تاريخ من التهديدات ضد الصحفية جينيث بيدويا ليما تعود لعام 1998. وفي شهر آب من عام 1999، تقدم الحكومة الكولومبية عرضاً لتزويدها بتدابير وقائية. وقبلت جينيث العرض ولكن لم يصلها أي رد من قبل الدولة.

 
25 أيار 2000
الاختطف من سجن لا موديلو

بتاريخ 25 أيار 2000، اختطف جينيث بيدويا، وتعرضت للتعذيب والاعتداء الجنسي أثناء إجراءها تحقيق حول الفساد في السجن لا موديلو.

 
2 حزيران 2000
تدابير وقائية

بتاريخ 2 حزيران عام 2000، قدمت لجنة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الانسان تدابير وقائية لجينيث بيدويا ليما وصحفيين آخرين، بناء على طلب مقدم من مؤسسة حرية الصحافة.

 
18 آب 2003
الاختطاف من قبل القوات المسلحة الثورية الكولومبية

بتاريخ 18 آب 2003، اختطف جينيث من قبل القوات المسلحة الثورية الكولومبية، واحتجزت لمدة خمسة أيام.

 
2009
"الان ليس الوقت المناسب لنكون صامتين"

تبدأ جينيث حملتها "الآن ليس الوقت المناسب لنكون صامتين"، التي تسعى إلى خلق الوعي وإدانة العنف ضد المرأة والاعتداءات الجنسية، خاصة في إطار النزاع الكولومبي.

 
تشرين الثاني 2010
اجبرت على ترك كولومبيا

في تشرين الثاني 2010 اضطرت جينيث لمغادرة كولومبيا نتيجة لعدة حوادث مرتبطة بعملها في الصحافة. فبعد نشر كتابها "حياة وموت في مونو جوجوي"، تلقت تهديدات مصدرها القوات المسلحة الثورية الكولومبية، جنبا إلى جنب مع وجود معلومات بأنه قد يتم اختطافها واغتيالها.

 
2011
مؤسسة حرية الصحافة تقدم الدعم القانوني

خلال 11 عاما بعد اختطافها وتعذيبها والاعتداء الجنسي عليها، تقاعست السلطات في التحقيق بالجريمة، وفي عدة مناسبات تم التحقيق مع بيدويا، تحديداً بسبب عملها الصحفي الذي كان سبب الاعتداء عليها. نتيجة لذلك، تقرر مؤسسة حرية الصحافة تقديم الدعم القانوني لها على المستوى الوطني والدولي.

 
حزيران 2011
التماس لجنة البلدان الأمريكية

في حزيران عام 2011، يُقَدم التماسا بشأن القضية للجنة البلدان الأمريكية.

 
تموز 2011
الاعتراف

في تموز عام 2011، يعترف عضو في مجموعة شبه عسكرية يدعى اليخاندرو كارديناس أمام النيابة العامة بأنه شارك في عملية اختطاف وتعذيب الصحفية جينيث بيدويا.

 
تشرين الأول 2011
الاعتذارات العلنية

في تشرين الأول عام 2011، قدم ممثلي الحكومة الكولومبية أثناء تواجدهم في مكاتب لجنة البلدان الأمريكية في واشنطن، الاعتذارات العلنية لجينيث بيدويا "لعدم اتخاذهم إجراءات في ذلك الوقت" ووعدوا بضمان عدم وجود تغييرات في التحقيق.

 
أيلول 2012
الإعلان بأن الهجوم جريمة ضد الإنسانية

في أيلول عام 2012، ربط مكتب المدعي العام ثلاثة أعضاء سابقين في مجموعة شبه عسكرية بتنفيذ الهجمات، وهم: ماريو خايميس ميخيا واليخاندرو كارديناس وخيسوس بيريرا، وأعلن بأن الاعتداءات بحق الصحفية تمثل جريمة ضد الإنسانية.

 
2013
تغييرات في اختصاص القضية، وضياع عام

في عام 2013، استولى على التحقيق فرع مختلف من مكتب المدعي العام (العدالة والسلام)، والذي أعلن في وقت لاحق بعد عام أن القضية لا تقع ضمن ولايته القضائية.

 
حزيران 2014
وضع التحقيقات على الرف

في حزيران عام 2014، قرر النائب العام إغلاق ملف التحقيقات حول العديد من التهديدات التي أبلغت عنها جينيث بيدويا.

 
تموز 2014
لجنة البلدان الأمريكية تقبل القضية

بتاريخ 21 تموز، قبلت لجنة البلدان الأمريكية قضية جينيث بيدويا، وألزمت الدولة الكولومبية بتقديم معلومات بشأن مسؤوليتها عن انتهاك حقوق الصحفية في الحماية القضائية وحرية التعبير والسلامة الشخصية، وغيرها من أوجه القصور.

 
أيلول 2014
اتهام البينادورو

بتاريخ 26 أيلول عام 2014، يتهم مكتب المدعي العام العضو السابق في المجموعة شبه العسكرية ماريو خايميس ميخيا بجرائم الاختطاف والتعذيب الخطير والعنف الجنسي.

 
2015
تأجيل الاستماع

بتاريخ 27 أذار عام 2015، بدأت المحكمة الجنائية الخامسة الاستماع في القضية المرفوعة ضد ماريو خايميس ميخيا. وبدأت جلسة الاستماع ولكن لم تتقدم أكثر بسبب طلبات تأجيل المقدمة من كل من المتهمين والنظام القضائي الكولومبي. بتايخ 28 مايو عام 2015، وضع المدعي العام المسؤول عن القضية التحقيق حول تصرفات عضو المجموعة شبه العسكرية اليخاندرو كارديناس على الرف. وأطلق سراحه بتاريخ 2 حزيران.

 
2015
اعادة القبض على اليخاندرو كارديناس

يأخذ مكتب المدعي العام الاتحادي عدة مواقف مختلفة حول القرار في غضون أسبوع. وأخيرا يبطل القرار ويعيد اعتقال اليخاندرو كارديناس.

 
حزيران 2015
اسناد القضية إلى مكتب مدعي عام آخر

بتاريخ 11 حزيران 2015، تم اسناد القضية إلى شعبة رقم 50 لحقوق الإنسان في مكتب المدعي العام.

 
تموز 2015
العديد من تأجيلات المحاكمة

افتتحت محاكمة ماريو خايميس ميخيا رسمياً بتاريخ 13 تموز، ولكن تم تأجيلها في ثلاث مناسبات (28 تموز و 10 أيلول و 14 كانون الأول). ومن المتوقع أن تُعقد المحكمة المقبلة في شباط 2016.

 
أيلول 2015
محاكمة اليخاندرو كارديناس وخيسوس بيريرا

بتاريخ 22 أيلول، يقرر المدعي العام المسؤول عن القضية احضار اليخاندرو كارديناس وخيسوس بيريرا الى المحاكمة.

 
تشرين الأول 2015
اجتماع عمل مؤسسة حرية الصحافة

في إطار الدورة 156 للجنة البلدان الأمريكية، ترافق مؤسسة حرية الصحافة الصحفية جينيث بيدويا ليما في اجتماع الدوام الرسمي للتدليل على الإفلات من العقاب والعقبات التي تحول دون تحقيق العدالة في قضيتها

 
2016
البانديرو يعترف بدوره في الهجوم

في جلسة استماع علنية في كولومبيا بتاريخ 2 شباط، قَبِل ماريو خايميس ميخيا المساومة القضائية بعد اعترافه بجميع التهم الموجهة إليه، وأقر بأن هذه الجرائم ضد الانسانية لكنه لم يقدم تفاصيل حول الفاعلين الآخرين أو حول ظروف أخرى عن الهجوم.

 
فبراير
أول إدانة

بتاريخ 26 شباط، تم إدانة اليخاندرو كارديناس أوروزكو، الملقب بـ” J.J.” وحكم عليه بالسجن لمدة 11 عاماً. ووجدت المحكمة بأن كارديناس مذنب بالخطف والتعذيب، ولكن المحاكمة بتهمة الاعتداء الجنسي لا تزال مستمرة.

 
انه ليس يوماً للاحتفال. إنه يوم التبرئة ... بعد 16 عاماً، هذه هي الخطوة الأولى نحو العدالة الحقيقية. هي الأولى في طريقٍ طويل، وجاءت بعدما قررت صحيفتان من أهم الصحف في كولومبيا بنشر تحقيق مشترك حول اختطافي."

جينيث بيدويا ليما للجنة حماية الصحفيين

 
رفض العدالة البديلة ل- "JJ "و"إل باناديرو"

في 19 آب/أوغسطس عام 2016، ماريو خايميس ميخيا الملقب ب "إل باناديرو" واليخاندرو كارديناس أوروزكو، الملقب ب "JJ" منعوا من الحصول على آليات العدالة البديلة من خلال نظام عملية العدالة والسلام من قبل المحكمة العليا. وذكر القاضي أن كلا كارديناس وخايميس قدموا معلومات مضللة في محاولة للحصول على عقوبات أقل شدة.

 
2017

تحديثات جديدة

استدعاء جينيث إلى المحكمة كشاهدة

بتاريخ 1 آذار، وقفت جينيث أمام منصة الشهود مرة أخرى بعد أن طلب محامو أليخاندرو كارديناس وخيسوس بيريرا شهادتها في المحكمة العليا في بوغوتا، ووافق على طلبهما القاضي المشرف. للمرة الثانية عشرة، تضطر جينيث لسرد قصة اختطافها والاعتداء الجنسي عليها، وهذه المرة بوجود اليخاندرو كارديناس أوروزكو. تنشر آيفكس رسالة تندد فيها بإعادة إيذاء جينث وقدمتها رسمياً إلى السلطات الكولومبية في بوغوتا. ويُمنع الصحفيون من الدخول إلى المحكمة بعد قرار القاضي متذرعاً بفقرة تحد من وصول الجمهور إلى جلسات الاستماع الحساسة.


ما يفعل أعضاء آيفكس

تقدم مؤسسة حرية الصحافة المساعدة في قضية جينيث بالمحاكم الوطنية، واللجنة الإقليمية لحقوق الإنسان. وتقوم بحملة نشطة من اجل توفير حماية أفضل للصحافيين في كولومبيا وحريصون على خفض مستوى الإفلات من العقاب في البلاد.

تدعو لجنة حماية الصحفيين للعدالة في قضية جينيث منذ الأيام الأولى للهجوم عليها. مؤخرا، التقى وفد من لجنة حماية الصحفيين ومؤسسة حرية الصحافة مع الرئيس سانتوس للمطالبة بوضع حد للإفلات من العقاب والتقدم في العديد من قضايا الاعتداء على الصحفيين في كولومبيا، بما في ذلك قضية جينيث بيدويا ليما.

المزيد من الموارد والمعلومات

60 عاما من التجسس على الصحفيين في كولومبيا

الأمريكتان Foundation for Press Freedom - FLIP 1 September 2015

يقدم التقرير السنوي التاسع لمؤسسة حرية الصحافة لمحة عامة عن وضع حرية الصحافة في كولومبيا، بما في ذلك الاستخدام المتزايد لمراقبة الدولة.



 
انخرطوا الآن
[]

من شبكتنا:

RT @IFEX: Today, #activist #KemLey should be celebrating his birthday. Instead he’s been silenced. #NoImpunity https://t.co/s6DAcmdFIS @for

REGIONS:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

CASE PROFILE

Jineth Bedoya Lima: A chronicle of justice delayed

In May of 2000, Jineth Bedoya Lima was abducted and sexually assaulted while investigating a story in Colombia. Fifteen years later, justice has only just begun to be served.

Jineth Bedoya Lima is an award-winning investigative journalist and an advocate for the rights of women victims of violence in Colombia. Recognized for her reporting on the activities of Colombian paramilitaries, she was following up on a lead about alleged arms sales between paramilitaries and Colombian state officials at a maximum-security prison on 25 May 2000. Jineth was abducted from the prison, tortured, and sexually assaulted as a “message to the press”.

Fifteen years later, the first two perpetrators have only just been convicted for these acts, and Jineth's case has become synonymous with the impunity that plagues Colombia's justice system. Although several perpetrators have been identified and apprehended, obtaining convictions has been a glacial process, and the judiciary has mishandled the case on several occasions.

In the absence of justice, the Foundation for Press Freedom (FLIP), an IFEX member, presented a petition to the Inter-American Commission for Human Rights in 2011. The case has been in progress at the Commission ever since and is currently awaiting the Colombian Government's response to findings regarding its culpability in the incident, considering the complicity of its state agents in the attacks.

Far from being intimidated from speaking out, Jineth herself has become a fervent advocate for press freedom and women's rights in Colombia, particularly through her “Now is not the time to be silent” campaign.

Key Actors

Jineth Bedoya Lima Investigative journalist and women’s rights advocate, is currently championing the struggles of women who have been victims of sexual violence, to ensure their cases are investigated and those responsible are brought to justice.

Office of the Attorney General is the State entity in charge of investigating the crimes against Jineth Bedoya. It has a crucial role in clarifying the events of 25 May 2000 and linking them to possible suspects in the case in order to bring them to justice. In the 15 years in which the case has been ongoing, there have been multiple problems with the criminal investigation conducted by this institution, resulting in three changes of prosecutors, delays, and other complications. Prosecutor No. 50 of the National Unit for Human Rights and International Humanitarian Law is currently responsible for the case.

Mario Jaimes Mejía alias “El Panadero”, was convicted for the kidnapping, sexual assault and torture of Jineth Bedoya on 18 March 2016. After being part of Front 24 of the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia (FARC), he joined the Santander and Sur del Cesar Autodefensas Unidas de Colombia (United Self-Defense Forces of Colombia, AUC). During this time, he committed several crimes, including the 1998 massacres in Barrancabermeja. He was arrested and imprisoned for these crimes in 1999. During his time in Bogotá’s Modelo penitentiary, he went on to become one of the highly-feared AUC leaders within the prison and head of the nascent ‘Capital Block’, a group that has been credited with attacks on several human rights defenders in Bogotá. Mejía confessed to being one of Bedoya’s attackers on 2 February 2016 and will serve a 28-year sentence for his crimes.

Jesús Emiro Pereira, alias “Huevo de pizca”, was a member of the Autodefensas Campesinas de Córdoba y Urabá (Peasant Self-Defense Forces of Córdoba and Urabá, ACCU). On his arrival in Bogotá, Jesús Pereira established relationships with other paramilitary leaders within the Modelo prison. It is through these relationships that it is believed he came to be one of the individuals tasked with the attack against Jineth Bedoya.

Alejandro Cárdenas Orozco, alias “J.J.”, was convicted for the kidnapping and torture of Jineth Bedoya on 26 February 2016. Cárdenas joined the Córdoba and Urabá self-defense groups in 1997, becoming a member of the Centauros Block. It is presumed that in 2000, while in Barranca de Upía, he received an order to travel to Bogotá to carry out the attack against Jineth Bedoya. In 2012, he admitted to two of the three accusations put forward by the Prosecutor’s Office, acknowledging his role in the kidnapping and torture of Jineth Bedoya, but denied having participated in the sexual assault.

The Inter-American Human Rights System is a regional arrangement that consists of the states of the Organization of American States (OAS), the main function of which is to ensure the respect, protection and realization of human rights in the Americas. To this end, the Inter-American System has two separate but complementary bodies; these are the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) and the Inter-American Court of Human Rights (IACrtHR). Jineth’s case is currently being studied by the IACHR after being presented to the court by FLIP in 2011 after prolonged inaction in Colombia.

Timeline of Events

 
1998
The First Threats

There is a history of threats against journalist Jineth Bedoya Lima dating back as far as 1998. In August 1999, the Colombian government offers to provide her with protective measures. Jineth accepts the offer but never receives a response from the State.

 
2000
Abducted from La Modelo Prison

On 25 May 2000, Jineth Bedoya is kidnapped, tortured and sexually assaulted while conducting an investigation into corruption in the La Modelo prison.

 
June
Precautionary Measures

On 2 June 2000, the Inter-American Commission on Human Right (IACHR) grants precautionary measures to Jineth Bedoya Lima and other journalists, based on a request submitted by the Foundation for Press Freedom (FLIP).

 
2003
Kidnapped by the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia

Jineth is kidnapped by the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia (FARC) and held for five days.

 
2009
“No Es Hora De Callar”

Jineth begins her campaign, “No Es Hora De Callar” (Now is not the time to be silent), which seeks to create awareness and condemn violence against women, especially sexual assaults within the framework of the Colombian conflict.

 
2010
Forced to Leave Colombia

In November 2010 Jineth is forced to leave Colombia as a result of several security incidents linked to her work as a journalist. Upon publishing her book “Vida y Muerte del Mono Jojoy” (Life and Death of Mono Jojoy), she receives threats originating from the FARC, along with information that she would be kidnapped and assassinated.

 
2011
FLIP Provides Legal Support

During the 11 years since her kidnapping, torture and sexual assault, the authorities failed to investigate the crime, and on several occasions Jineth Bedoya was asked to investigate and identify, via her journalistic work, who was behind her own attacks. As a result, FLIP provides her with legal support at the national and international level.

 
June
IACHR Petition

In June 2011, a petition regarding the case is filed with the IACHR.

 
July
The Confession

In July 2011, paramilitary group member Alejandro Cárdenas confesses before the Public Prosecutor to having participated in the kidnapping and torture of journalist Jineth Bedoya.

 
October
Public Apologies

(Spanish only) In October 2011, at the IACHR offices in Washington, Colombian government representatives offer public apologies to Jineth Bedoya “for not having taken action at the time” and promise to ensure that there are changes in the investigation.

 
September
Attack Declared Crime Against Humanity

In September 2012, the Public Prosecutor’s Office links three former paramilitary group members to the attacks, Mario Jaimes Mejía, alias ‘El Panadero’, Alejandro Cárdenas (J.J.) and Jesús Pereira (Huevo de Pizca) and declares the actions against the journalist to be a crime against humanity.

 
2013
The Case’s Jurisdiction Changes, A Year is Wasted

In 2013, a different branch of the Public Prosecutor’s Office (Justice and Peace) takes over the case. A year later, it is determined that the case does not fall within its jurisdiction.

 
2014
Investigations Shelved

In June 2014, the public prosecutor decides to shelve the investigations into the multiple threats that Jineth Bedoya has reported.

 
July
IACHR Accepts Case

On 21 July, the IACHR accepts Jineth Bedoya’s case, obliging the Colombian State to provide information regarding its responsibility in the violation of the journalist’s rights to judicial protection, freedom of expression, and personal integrity, among other shortcomings.

 
September
"El Panadero" Indicted

On 26 September 2014, the prosecutor indicts former paramilitary group member Mario Jaimes Mejía (El Panadero) for the crimes of aggravated kidnapping, aggravated torture and sexual violence.

 
2015

On 27 March 2015, the Fifth Criminal Court hears the case against Mario Jaimes Mejía. The hearing is initiated but never advances further due to requests for postponement brought forward by the both the accused and the Colombian judicial system.

 
May

(Spanish only) On 28 May 2015, the prosecutor responsible for Jineth's case shelves the investigation into the actions of paramilitary group member Alejandro Cárdenas. He is freed on 2 June.

 
Alejandro Cárdenas re-arrested

(Spanish only) Amid national outrage and within the space of a week, the Federal Public Prosecutor’s Office takes several different positions on the decision within the space of a week. It finally annuls the original decision and re-arrests Alejandro Cárdenas.

 
June
Case is Assigned to Yet Another Prosecutor’s Office

On 11 June, the case is assigned to Prosecutor No. 50 of the Human Rights Division of the Public Prosecutor’s Office.

 
July
Confession Obtained after Multiple Trial Postponements

The trial of Mario Jaimes Mejía formally opens on 13 July, but is postponed on three occasions (28 July, 10 September and 14 December).

 
September
Alejandro Cárdenas brought to trial

On 22 September, the prosecutor in charge of the case decides to bring Alejandro Cárdenas and Jesús Pereira to trial.

 
October
FLIP Working meeting

Within the framework of the IACHR’s 156th session, FLIP accompanies journalist Jineth Bedoya Lima in an official working meeting to demonstrate the impunity and obstacles to achieving justice in her case.

 
2016
El Panadero Confesses to His Role in the Attack

At a public hearing in Colombia on 2 February, Mario Jaimes Mejía accepts a plea bargain after confessing to all charges laid against him, acknowledging these as crimes against humanity but does not provide details about remaining perpetrators or other circumstances of the attack.

 
February
The First Conviction

On 26 February, the first conviction is handed down as Alejandro Cárdenas Orozco, alias 'J.J.' is sentenced to 11 years in prison. Cárdenas was found guilty of kidnap and torture, but the prosecution for sexual assault remains ongoing.

 
It's not a day of celebration. It's a day of vindication...After 16 years this is the first step toward real justice. It is the first in a long road, and it arrives just as the two most important newspapers in Colombia have decided to jointly publish the investigation that was cut off by my kidnapping"

Jineth Bedoya Lima via The Committee to Protect Journalists

 
March
The Second Conviction

On 18 March, the second conviction is handed down as Mario Jaimes Mejía alias “El Panadero”, is found guilty of kidnapping, sexual assault and torture and is sentenced to 28 years in prison, the maximum prison term for his crimes.

 
April
IACHR Public Hearing: 157th Period of Sessions

(Subtitled in English) On 5 April, Jineth Bedoya addresses the IACHR during the 157th Period of Sessions. Representatives of the Colombian Government express their willingness to cooperate with Jineth, but do not assume any responsibility for the mishandling of her case.

 
August
'JJ' and 'El Panadero' Denied Alternative Justice

On August 19 2016, Mario Jaimes Mejía alias "el panadero" and Alejandro Cardenas Orozco, alias "JJ" are denied alternative justice mechanisms through the Justice and Peace Process by the Supreme Court. The judge stated that both Cardenas and Jaimes had provided misleading information in an attempt to receive less severe sentences.

 
2017

NEW UPDATE

Jineth Brought Back to Court as Witness

On 1 March, Jineth takes the witness stand yet again after her testimony at the Supreme Court in Bogota is requested by Alejandro Cardenas and Jesus Pereira's lawyers and granted by the overseeing judge. For the 12th time, Jineth is forced to recount the story of her abduction and sexual assault, this time in the presence of Alejandro Cardenas Orozco. IFEX publishes a letter denouncing Jineth's revictimization which is formally submitted to Colombian authorities in Bogota. Journalists are denied access to the court following the judge's decision to invoke a clause limiting public access to more sensitive hearings.

What IFEX Members are doing

The Foundation for Press Freedom has been assisting with Jineth's case in the national courts and regional human rights commission. They actively campaign for better protections for journalists in Colombia and have committed to reducing the level of impunity country-wide.

The Committee to Protect Journalists has been advocating for justice for Jineth since the first days after her attack. Recently, a CPJ-FLIP delegation met with President Santos to demand an end to impunity and progress in several cases of attacks on journalists in Colombia, including that of Jineth Bedoya Lima.

More Resources & Information

60 Years of Spying on Journalists in Colombia

Americas Foundation for Press Freedom - FLIP 1 September 2015

FLIP’s 9th annual report provides an overview of the press freedom situation in Colombia, including the increasing use of state surveillance.



 
Get Involved Now
[]

Latest Tweet:

New video examines the life and death of Dr. #KemLey #NeverForget #NoImpunity #cambodia #politicskh #justicekh https://t.co/q2rQXB9Rsn