المناطق:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

معلومات البلد أساسية

فجر جديد للتعبير الحر: نبذة عن غامبيا

 

REUTERS/Thierry Gouegnon

أحيانا يجب أن أقول لنفسي هذا ليس حلما. أن هذا حقيقي. لقد رحل جامع وأستطيع أن أعمل بحرية.
بيرام سيت جوبي، مقدم راديو تارانغا اف ام المجتمعي. للجزيرة، 3 نيسان 2017


نظرة عامة

غامبيا هي البلد الأصغر والأكثر كثافة سكانية في القارة الأفريقية، كما انها مقصد سياحي شهير. ومع ذلك، حتى وقت قريب، ولكن تحت المثالية السطحية هناك خفاء مظلم حيث تفترس القوات الشبه عسكرية أولئك الذين يتحدثون علنا ضد الرئيس يحيى جامع، كما تقوم بقتل وتعذيب واخفاء الصحفيين ونشطاء المعارضة. ولكن انتخاب حكومة جديدة تعهدت بإنهاء الانتهاكات وتحقيق العدالة للضحايا، يجلب الأمل في الكفاح من أجل إقامة الديمقراطية.

العاصمة:

بانجول

عدد السكان:

1.991 مليون نسمة

الناتج المحلي الإجمالي

850,9 مليون دولار أمريكي.


الحكومة:

الحزب الديمقراطي المتحد للرئيس المنتخب أداما بارو. هزم بارو تحالف يحيى جامع لإعادة التوجيه الوطني والبناء في انتخابات وطنية اجريت بتاريخ 1 كانون الاول 2016.


عضو في:

الجماعة الاقتصادية لدول غرب أفريقيا (إيكواس)، الاتحاد الأفريقي، الأمم المتحدة.


مؤشر حرية الصحافة:

مؤشر مراسلون بلا حدود العالمي لحرية الصحافة 2016: 145 من أصل 178 بلد






أعضاء آيفكس الذين يعملون في البلد:

جمعية صحفيين غرب أفريقيا

مؤسسة حرية الإعلام في غرب أفريقيا


نظام ارهابي تحت سيطرة "ملك الافلات من العقاب"

على مدى أكثر من عقدين من الزمان، ومنذ استيلاءه على السلطة في انقلاب غير دموي في عام 1994، حكم ضابط الجيش السابق يحيى جامع غامبيا بطريقة يمكن وصفها بأنها استبدادية. ففي تقرير صدر عام 2015 لمنظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش، "غامبيا: تسجل عقدان من الخوف والقمع" تبين وقوع احداث فظيعة لا يمكن فهمها كان من بينها الاختطاف والقتل والتعذيب الشديد. وتعود العديد من هذه الجرائم إلى جماعة شبه عسكرية تعرف باسم "جونغولرز"، وهي وحدة نخبة كانت تتلقى أوامرها مباشرة من الرئيس. بدا جامع أن يستمتع بسمعته بالعنف، وكثيرا ما كانت له تصريحات علنية تقشعر لها الأبدان. فعلى سبيل المثال في عام 2009، حذر من أنه سيقتل شخصيا المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان، قائلا: "سوف اقتل كل من يريد زعزعة استقرار هذا البلد. إذا كنت تعتقد انه يمكنك التعاون مع ما يسمى بالمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان وتفلت من العقاب، فانت تعيش في عالم الأحلام. سوف أقتلك، ولن تحقق شيئاً". ففي بلد يستهدف فيه المثليون ومزدوجو الميول الجنسية والمتحولون جنسيا وثنائيو الجنس ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية، وتطبق فيها قوانين تجرم المثلية الجنسية، أدى تهديد جامع العلني في شهر أيار 2015 إلى" شق حلقهم" إلى أقصى حدود الخطر. ولا عجب أن جامع حصل على لقب ملك الإفلات من العقاب.

تعرض جامع للانتقاد على نطاق واسع داخل غامبيا وخارجها، إلا أنه نجا من أربع محاولات اغتيال على الأقل، ولكنه انتخب لولاية رابعة في كانون الأول 2011، في انتخابات كانت محرومة من النزاهة. وأي شخص كان يتجرأ على انتقاد العملية الانتخابية يواجه عواقب وخيمة. ففي شهر نيسان من عام 2016، على سبيل المثال، ألقي القبض على العديد من أعضاء المعارضة المعارضين الداعيين إلى الإصلاح الانتخابي. وقتل اثنان في السجن بسبب الظروف المروعة هناك ونقص الرعاية الطبية.

التقطت هذه الصورة بتاريخ 23 تشرين الأول 2013، وتظهر الحاجي، وهو لاجئ، في داكار، بالسنغال. هرب الحاجي من منزله في غامبيا بعام 2012 بعد تعرضه للضرب والمحاكمة والاضطهاد لكونه مثلي الجنس
التقطت هذه الصورة بتاريخ 23 تشرين الأول 2013، وتظهر الحاجي، وهو لاجئ، في داكار، بالسنغال. هرب الحاجي من منزله في غامبيا بعام 2012 بعد تعرضه للضرب والمحاكمة والاضطهاد لكونه مثلي الجنس

AP Photo/Jane Hahn


نتيجة صادمة للانتخابات

لقد كانت النتيجة مفاجأة رائعة عندما فاز بتاريخ 1 كانون الأول 2016 منافس جامع، أداما بارو، في الانتخابات الرئاسية بنسبة 45.5٪ من الأصوات ونسبة 36.7٪ لجامع. ولم يرحل جامع بهدوء. ففي البداية اعترف بالهزيمة، ولكن بعد عشرة أيام وبتاريخ 10 كانون الأول، قام بتغيير موقفه قائلا إن هناك مخالفات وأنه ينبغي إجراء انتخابات جديدة. وأدى ذلك إلى إضراب في البلاد وادى إلى حالة من الاضطراب. ومع اقتراب موعد تنصيب الرئيس الجديد في غامبيا بتاريخ 19 كانون الثاني، أمر جامع بقيام حالة الطوارئ. وألقي القبض على الضباط العسكريين المتهمين بالانحياز إلى بارو، وأجبرت محطات الإذاعة على الإغلاق، وتم ترحيل الصحفيين الأجانب. وفى الوقت نفسه اعلنت الجماعة الاقتصادية لدول غرب افريقيا "ايكواس" انها ستجمع قوات فى السنغال ونيجيريا المجاورة للتدخل اذا تم منع بارو من تولي الرئاسة.

وعندما اتضح أن جامع لن يتنحى، بدأت مراسم التنصيب على أي حال في السفارة الغامبية في السنغال. وبعد يومين، بتاريخ 21 كانون الثاني، اعترف جامع بالهزيمة وهرب إلى المنفى في غينيا الاستوائية.


رئيس جديد يجلب الأمل بالعدالة

إن نهج الرئيس أداما بارو في السلطة يتناقض تماما مع سلفه. وهو مطور عقارات سابق كان قد أمضى بعض الوقت في بريطانيا تحت ضغط وظيفة البيع بالتجزئة منخفضة الأجر لتمويل دراسته. لدى بارو خبرة سياسية سابقة قليلة. ومع ذلك، فإن بيان بارو يتعهد بحماية حقوق الإنسان، وعلى وجه التحديد الصحافة الحرة، والإفراج عن السجناء السياسيين، وإنشاء لجنة حقيقة للمصالحة لتحقيق العدالة لضحايا نظام جامع.

ومن بين ضحايا عصر جامع العديد من الصحفيين:
ديدا هيدارا، محررة في صحيفة ذا بوينت، وقتلت بالرصاص في عام 2004 من قبل جانجلرز وفقاً لما يُقال. وفي أيار 2017، أصدرت المحكمة أمرا باعتقال ضابطين عسكريين متورطين في قتلها، وهي علامة مبشرة بالخير على أن الحكومة الجديدة ستفي بالتزاماتها بتحقيق العدالة لضحايا حقوق الإنسان.
• الصحفي إبريما مانه، يعتبر في عداد المفقودين بعد اعتقاله من قبل ضباط وكالة الاستخبارات الوطنية في عام 2006. ولا يزال مكان وجوده مجهولا.
موسى سيد خان، رئيس تحرير صحيفة الاندبندنت، ألقي القبض عليه في عام 2006. وتم احتجازه لمدة 22 يوما تعرض خلالها للتعذيب الشديد.
العاجي عبدولي سيسي، وهو مذيع ألقي القبض عليه في عام 2015، وتمت محاكمته غيابياً في تشرين الثاني من عام 2016 وحكم عليه بالسجن لمدة أربع سنوات بتهمة الفتنة. وتعرض للتعذيب الشديد.


إصلاحات وسائل الإعلام لتحقيق حقبة جديدة من الأمل

في شهر آذار من عام 2017، قدم الرئيس بارو التزاما شخصيا بحماية حرية التعبير. وقال في تصريح لمؤسسة اعلام غرب أفريقيا وهي عضو في شبكة آيفكس، خلال لقاء معه لمناقشة حرية وسائل الإعلام: "لا يمكن لبلد ان يتطور بدون وسائل اعلام قوية، ولهذا السبب تلتزم حكومتي باتخاذ خطوات مثل اصلاح قوانين الاعلام والعمل مع الشركاء لضمان بيئة اكثر حرية لعمل الاعلام". وبعد ثلاثة أشهر في شهر حزيران من عام 2017، بدأت مبادرة إصلاح وسائل الإعلام بقيادة مؤسسة إعلام غرب افريقيا واتحاد الصحافي الغامبي وبالشراكة مع وزارة الاتصالات. وتم عقد سلسلة من حلقات العمل والمشاورات التي اشتملت أيضا على خبراء من مؤسسة إعلام دولية مقرها في الدانمرك، وذلك بهدف وضع استراتيجية شاملة لإصلاح وسائل الإعلام تشمل على تغييرات في التشريعات والسياسات وبناء القدرات وتحويل القنوات الاعلامية الحكومية إلى قنوات عامة تخدم الجمهور. ومن المقرر أن ينضم إلى هذه المبادرة في وقت لاحق مندوبون من الجماعة الاقتصادية لدول غرب أفريقيا والأمم المتحدة.

إن مشاركة المجتمع المدني والحكومة من أجل التغيير، يعطي أملا حقيقيا في أن نرى صحافة حرة بعد عقود من الإرهاب، وإنهاء الإفلات من العقاب في غامبيا.

المزيد من الموارد والمعلومات

موسى سيدخان وإبريما مانه: تقويض العدالة من قبل الدولة

إفريقيا 17 October 2016

في عام 2006، اعتُقِل الصحفيان الغامبيان موسى سيدخان وإبريما مانه بشكل منفصل من قبل عناصر حكومية في بانجول، غامبيا. تعرض سيدخان للتعذيب الوحشي، بينما اختفى مانه مع القليل من الظهور. وأصدرت محكمة المجتمع الاقتصادي لدول غرب إفريقيا (إيكواس) قرارات ضد غامبيا في كلتا القضيتين، وقالت بأن الدولة مذنبة لخرقها جنائيا حقوقهما وعليها تعويضهما. حتى الآن، لم تمتثل غامبيا لقرارات الحكم.

دولة الخوف: الاعتقال التعسفي والتعذيب والقتل

إفريقيا 15 September 2015

يقدم هذا التقرير لمحة عامة عن حالة حقوق الإنسان في البلاد منذ وصول الرئيس جامح إلى السلطة في عام 1994. ويوثق انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان من قبل قوات أمن الدولة والقوات الشبه عسكرية الموالية للحكومة، حيث تشتمل هذه الانتهاكات على الاعتقال التعسفي والاحتجاز والتعذيب وغيره من ضروب سوء المعاملة، والاختفاء القسري، والقتل الغير قانوني، وعلى دور الرئيس جامع في تسهيل هذه الانتهاكات.



 
انخرطوا الآن

من شبكتنا:

With the 7th anniversary of the 2011 #BahrainUprising on 14 February, where is justice for those killed during past… https://t.co/9hH9NillDy

REGIONS:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

Country Backgrounder

A new dawn for free expression: country profile of the Gambia

 
Supporters of president-elect Adama Barrow celebrate Barrow's election victory in Banjul, Gambia, 2 December 2016
Supporters of president-elect Adama Barrow celebrate Barrow's election victory in Banjul, Gambia, 2 December 2016

REUTERS/Thierry Gouegnon

"I sometimes have to tell myself this is not a dream. That this is real. That Jammeh is gone and I can work freely."
Biram Sait Jobe, presenter of Taranga FM community radio
Al Jazeera, 3 April 2017


Overview

The smallest and most densely populated country on the African continent, the Gambia is a popular tourist destination. Yet, until recently, beneath the idyllic surface there was a dark undercurrent where paramilitaries preyed on those who spoke out against former President Yahya Jammeh, killing, torturing and disappearing journalists and opposition activists. The election of a new government, one that has pledged to end violations and to bring justice to victims, brings hope for the hard fought for establishment of democracy.

Capital:

Banjul

Population:

1.991mi

GDP:

$850.9 USi


Government:

The United Democratic Party of President-elect Adama Barrow. Barrow defeated Yahya Jammeh's Alliance for Patriotic Reorientation and Construction in a national election on 1 December 2016.


Member of:

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), African Union, United Nations


IFEX members working in the country:

West African Journalists Association
Media Foundation for West Africa | mfwa.org


Press Freedom Ranking:

Reporters Without Borders Press Freedom Index 2017: 143 out of 179


A reign of terror under the 'King of Impunity'

For over two decades, since he seized power in a bloodless coup in 1994, former military officer, Yahya Jammeh ruled the Gambia in a manner that can be described as despotic. A 2015 Human Rights Watch report, Gambia: Two decades of fear and repression chronicles incomprehensible atrocities: abductions, murders, acute torture among them. Many of the crimes were attributed to a paramilitary group known as the 'Jungulers', an elite unit who took their orders directly from the President. Jammeh appeared to revel in his reputation for violence, frequently making public statements that were chilling. For example in 2009 he warned that he would personally kill human rights defenders, saying: 'I will kill anyone who wants to destabilise this country. If you think that you can collaborate with so-called human rights defenders, and get away with it, you must be living in a dream world. I will kill you, and nothing will come out of it.' In a country where LGBT people are targets of attack, hate speech and laws criminalising homosexuality, Jammeh's May 2015 public threat to 'slit the throats' of gay people escalated the danger to them to the extreme. It is no wonder that Jammeh earned himself the title of the King of Impunity.

Deeply feared and widely criticised inside and outside the Gambia, Jammeh survived at least four assassination attempts, but was elected to a fourth term in December 2011, in elections that were decried as far from fair. Any person who dared to criticise the election process faced dire consequences. In April 2016, for example, several opposition party members calling for electoral reform were arrested. Two were to die in prison because of the appalling conditions there and lack of medical care.

This photo from 23 October 2013 shows Alhaji, a refugee, in Dakar, Senegal. Alhaji fled his home in Gambia in 2012 after being beaten, tried, and persecuted for being gay
This photo from 23 October 2013 shows Alhaji, a refugee, in Dakar, Senegal. Alhaji fled his home in Gambia in 2012 after being beaten, tried, and persecuted for being gay

AP Photo/Jane Hahn


A shock election result

So, it was a great surprise, when on 1 December 2016, Jammeh's rival, Adama Barrow, won the presidential elections with 45.5% of the vote over Jammeh's 36.7%. Not that Jammeh went quietly. At first he conceded defeat, but ten days later, on 10 December, he changed his position, stating that there had been irregularities and that there should be fresh elections. This threw the country into turmoil and as the 19 January inauguration of the Gambia's new president neared, Jammeh ordered a state of emergency. Military officers accused of siding with Barrow were arrested, radio stations were forced to close, and foreign journalists deported. Meanwhile the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) announced it was gathering forces in neighbouring Senegal and Nigeria to intervene if Barrow was blocked from taking up the presidency.

When it became clear that Jammeh would not step down, the inauguration ceremony went ahead anyway at the Gambian embassy in Senegal. Two days later, on 21 January, Jammeh conceded defeat and fled into exile in Equatorial Guinea.


A new President brings hope for justice

President Adama Barrow's approach to power is in stark contrast to his predecessor's. A former property developer who had spent some time in Britain holding down a low paid retail job to fund his studies, he has had little previous political experience. Yet Barrow's manifesto pledges protection for human rights, specifically a free press, the release of political prisoners and the setting up of a Truth and Reconciliation Commission to bring justice to victims of Jammeh's regime, among others.

Among the victims of Jammeh's era are several journalists:
Deyda Hydara, editor of The Point, shot dead in 2004, allegedly by Jungulers. In May 2017 a court issued an arrest warrant against two military officers implicated in his murder, a promising early sign that the new government will meet its commitments to bring justice to human rights victims.
'Chief' Ebrima Manneh, went missing after being arrested by national intelligence officers in 2006. His whereabouts remain unknown.
Musa Saidykhan, editor of The Independent newspaper, arrested in 2006. Held for 22 days during which time he suffered acute torture.
Alhagie Abdoulie Ceesay, a radio journalist, arrested in 2015 and sentenced in absentia in November 2016 to four years in prison for sedition. He was reportedly severely tortured.


Media reforms to bring a new era of hope

In March 2017, President Barrow gave a personal commitment to protecting freedom of expression. "A country cannot develop without strong media and that is why my government is committed to taking steps such as reforming media laws and working with partners to ensure a freer environment for the operations of the media," he told a delegation from the Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA), an IFEX member organisation, who met with him to discuss media freedom. Three months later, in June 2017, a media reform initiative kicked off, led by MFWA and the Gambian Press Union, working with the Ministry of Communications. Through a series of workshops and consultations, also involving experts from the Denmark-based International Media Services, the aim is to develop a comprehensive media reform strategy including changes to legislation and policy, capacity building, and the transformation of the state broadcaster to a public service broadcaster. It is planned that the initiative will later by joined by delegates from ECOWAS and the UN.

The engagement of both civil society and government towards change, gives real hope that after decades of terror, a free press and an end to impunity in the Gambia is in sight.

More Resources & Information

Musa Saidykhan and Ebrima Manneh: Justice Subverted by the State

Africa IFEX 17 October 2016

In 2006, Gambian journalists Musa Saidykhan and Ebrima Manneh were separately arrested and detained by state agents in Banjul, Gambia. Saidykhan was subjected to brutal torture, while Manneh disappeared with little trace. The ECOWAS Community Court of Justice has issued judgements against the Gambia in both cases, finding the state guilty of criminally violating their rights and owing them recompense. To date, the Gambia has yet to comply with either ruling.

State of Fear: Arbitrary Arrests, Torture, and Killings

Africa Human Rights Watch (HRW) 15 September 2015

This report provides an overview of the human rights situation in the country since President Jammeh came to power in 1994. It documents human rights abuses by state security forces and pro-government paramilitaries, including arbitrary arrest and detention, torture and other ill-treatment, enforced disappearance, unlawful killing, and the role of President Jammeh in facilitating these abuses.



ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Related stories on ifex.org
  • 22 years of Jammeh

    What's it really like to live 22 years under the shadow of a president responsible for a growing list of human rights violations?

  • Two years on, Gambia yet to comply with ECOWAS Court ruling on murder of Deyda Hydara

    Today June 10, 2016, marks two years after the ECOWAS Community Court of Justice found that the Gambian government failed to conduct a proper investigation into the murder of journalist Deyda Hydara.



 
Get Involved Now

Latest Tweet:

It has been 2 years since police reopened the case of murdered journalist Shan Dahar. Signs of early progress have… https://t.co/5982tYWkoj