المناطق:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

قضية

شان دهار: معركة عائلته من أجل العدالة

بتاريخ 1 كانون الثاني عام 2014، أطلق النار على الصحافي الباكستاني شان دهار من قبل رجال مسلحين، وتم نقله الى مستشفى محلي حيث بقي غير مراقب حتى استسلم لجروحه. بعد مرور أكثر من عامين، لم يتم تقديم أي أحد من الجناة إلى العدالة.

كان ذاكر علي المعروف أيضا باسم شان الدهار رئيس مكتب قناة إيه بي بي تاك في حي لاركانا بإقليم السند، بباكستان. لقد تم اطلاق النار على شان في ظهره في تمام الساعة 12:30 من صباح يوم 1 كانون الثاني 2014، وتم نقله إلى مستشفى تشاندكا الطبي حيث بقي غير مراقب حتى توفي متأثراً بجراحه في وقت لاحق من صباح ذلك اليوم.

تعتقد عائلته بأن قرار المحققين المحليين بأن موته كان حادثاً ناجماً عن اطلاق النار ابتهاجا بليلة رأس السنة الميلادية الجديدة خاطيء وتم التأثير عليه من قبل جهات خارجية. تعتقد اسرته بأنه كان مستهدفا بسبب تقاريره حول البيع غير المشروع للأدوية التي تبرعت بها المنظمات الغير حكومية للمستشفيات المحلية. كما يعتقد المجتمع الإعلامي في باكستان أيضا بأن القتل كان انتقاما لعمله الصحفي. حيث كان يعمل شان على عدد من التقارير التي يحتمل أنها كانت ملتهبة في ذلك الوقت، وكان قد تلقى تهديدات قبل إطلاق النار عليه.

خلال الساعات التسعة التي قضاها شان في المستشفى، تمكن من إخبار أصدقائه وعائلته عبر الهاتف بأن عمير زهري وعرفان زهري هما من قاما بقتله. ومع ذلك، لم يتم التحقيق مع أي من الرجلين حول هذه الجريمة. فبدلا من ذلك، يواجهون المحاكمة غيابيا بعد هروبهما من الحكم.

لقد قامت مؤسسة الصحافة الباكستانية وهي عضو في شبكة آيفكس بالدفاع بنجاح مع عائلة شان دهار من أجل إعادة فتح التحقيق بالقضية بصفتها حادثة قتل متعمد، استنادا إلى الأدلة التي تدحض ادعاء الموت العرضي، كما أشارت المؤسسة إلى احتمال تستر المسؤولون المحليون. كما تعمل المؤسسة حاليا مع العائلة وأصحاب المصلحة من أجل ضمان بان التحقيق الجديد سيؤدي إلى تحديد ومحاكمة المسؤولين عن مقتل شان. إن الإفلات من العقاب في باكستان متفشي، فكما يتضح من تقارير مؤسسة الصحافة الباكستانية في عام 2015، لم يتم إجراء أي عملية اعتقال لما يصل إلى 15 اعتداءً على الصحفيين والعاملين في وسائل الإعلام في البلاد. ويتفشى الإفلات من العقاب في باكستان، حيث وجدت مؤسسة الصحافة الباكستانية، أنه من بين 72 حالة قتل بحق الإعلاميين منذ عام 2002، صدرت أحكام إدانة في ثلاث قضايا فقط.


الفاعلون الأساسيون

أمير زهري وعرفان زهري، هما الأخوة الذان اتُهِما بقتل شان دهار. وفقا لشقيقة شان فوزية سلطانة، فقد تعرّف عليهما شان في الساعات الأخيرة قبل وفاته بأنهما من قاما الاعتداء عليه، ولكن لم يلق القبض عليهما. ويواجهان حاليا محاكمة غيابيا بتهمة قتل بحادث. ويدعي أفراد الأسرة أن المتهمين يتجولون بحرية في المدينة، والشرطة لم تبذل أي محاولات جادة لاعتقالهم.

كاظم رند، أنشأ نائب المفتش العام للشرطة في لاركانا لجنة للتحقيق في القضية، حيث تضم اللجنة ايضا المفتش مرتضى كالرو، وهو مساعد مفتش الشرطة، وساجد خوخار، وعدد من نوّاب المدراء في الشرطة.

بابو إقبال، وهو رئيس نادي الصحافة في لاركانا، ومراسل شبكة أخبار ARY، وقام بدعم أسرة شان دهار فيما يخص المسائل القانونية وضغط اعلى لإدارة المحلية والشرطة لإعادة التحقيق في جريمة اغتيال دهار.

السيد قازي شهيد برفيز، وزير الداخلية الذي وجّه المفتش العام لشرطة السند بأن يأمر بإعادة التحقيق في القضية وتعيين فريق تحقيق مستقل. وبعد فترة وجيزة، تم نقل التحقيق إلى ولاية قضائية جديدة تحت قيادة كبير المشرفين في شرطة دادو، شابير أحمد سيثار.

مؤسسة الصحافة الباكستانية، وهي منظمة مجتمع مدني محلية وعضو في شبكة آيفكس وتعمل بشكل وثيق مع عائلة شان دهار من أجل ضمان عمل تحقيق جديد بنزاهة وشفافية وتقديم الجناة إلى العدالة. منحت مؤسسة الصحافة الباكستانية أسرة دهار جائزة حرية الصحافة لمؤسسة الصحافة الباكستانية بتاريخ 3 أيار 2014 لدعم جهودهم في تحقيق العدالة بموت شان.

مبادرة الدفاع القانوني لوسائل الإعلام هي منظمة غير ربحية مكرسة لتقديم الدفاع القانوني للصحفيين والمدونين ووسائل الإعلام المستقلة، وظلت تعمل مباشرة مع عائلة شان دهار لتزويدها بالتمثيل القانوني المحلي بقضية شان.


التسلسل الزمني للأحداث

 
2013
تهديدات بحق دهار

بتاريخ 25 كانون الأول 2013، قدم دهار شكوى إلى مركز للشرطة في بداه شاه جاهان جهاكراني حول التهديدات التي يتلقاها بسبب عمله. بعد قتل شان، اختفى الملف الذي يحتوي على شكواه في ظروف غامضة. تم تسجيل الفيديو أعلاه من قبل شان الدهار خلال تحقيقاته الصحفية في عام 2013، و يزعم توزيع غير المشروع لأدوية تبرعت بها منظمة محلية غير حكومية.

 
2014
اسقاطه خلال اخبار الاحتفالات برأس السنة

في ساعة مبكرة من 1 كانون الثاني 2014، تم اطلاق النار شان دهار عدة مرات من قبل مهاجمين تم التعرف عليهم في وقت لاحق بأنهما الإخوة عرفان وأمير زهري. تم نقل شان إلى المستشفى، ولكنه توفي بعد 9 ساعات بدون تلقي العلاج لإصابته.

 
كانون الثاني
الحكومة تسعى للحصول على تقرير

رئيس وزراء إقليم السند سيد قايم علي شاه يطلب من المفتش العام لشرطة السند تقديم تقرير عن الحادث في غضون ثلاثة أيام. نائب المفتش العام للشركة في لاركانا يشكل لجنة من خمسة أعضاء برئاسة مساعد مدير الشرطة ساجد خوخار للتحقيق في مقتل دهار. ويعلن التحقيق بأن دهار لم يكن مستهدف في الهجوم، ولكنه قتل نتيجة لإطلاق نار طائش خلال احتفالات ليلة رأس السنة الميلادية الجديدة.

 
وعود بالدعم المالي

يعلن رئيس الوزراء بان الحكومة سوف تبدأ في توفير التعليم المجاني لاثنين من بنات الصحفي القتيل لأسباب إنسانية. كما قدم الاتحاد الباكستاني الفيدرالي للصحفيين مساعدة مالية شهرية لأسرة داهار لمدة عامين. وتم استلام آخر دفعة في شهر أيار من عام 2017.

 
مظاهرات احتجاج

بعد مقتل دهار، نظّم الصحفيون مظاهرات في اقليم السند احتجاجا على "إهمال الأطباء وللمطالبة باعتقال القتلة وتوفير مزيد من التعويضات لأسرة الفقيد.

 
شباط
طلب لإعادة التحقيق

يقدم رياض حسين كوشك، شقيق زوجة دهار طلبا إلى شرطة السند بتاريخ 24 شباط عام 2014 لإعادة التحقيق في القضية، لانه تم تسجيل تقرير المعلومات الأول بموجب قانون القانوني الباكستاني كجريمة قتل ولكن تم إجراء التحقيق كأن القتل حدث بسبب "رصاصة طائشة أو إهمال".

 
نيسان
رسالة مكتوبة إلى المفتش العام في الشرطة السند

بتاريخ 2 نيسان عام 2014، قامت مادادغار وهي منظمة غير حكومية محلية بكتابة رسالة إلى المفتش العام في شرطة السند لحثه على إعادة التحقيق في مقتل دهار. بتاريخ 7 نيسان، طتبت شقيقة دهار فوزية سلطانة أيضا للمفتش العام في شرطة السند لطلب إعادة التحقيق من مقتل أخيها.

 
أيار
تعليق عمل طبيبان

استاداً لنتيجة لجنة التحقيق التي أنشأها المشرف الطبي في تشاندكا، قام رئيس سكرتارية إقليم السند سجاد سليم هوتيانا بتعليق عمل الدكتور عبد الغفار كاندهرو وهو الطبيب المسؤول عن مركز الصحة الريفية في بداه، والدكتور علي جوهر شانديو، وهو كبير الموظفين الطبيين في قسم الجراحة بالمستشفى بسبب الإهمال في علاج شان دهار.

 
2015
تقديم قضية دهار للمحكمة

قدمت شرطة لاركانا القضية إلى محكمة المقاطعة ولجلسات قاضي لاركانا تحت قسم 319، قَتل برصاصة طائشة. وتم اتخاذ هذا القرار على الرغم من تصريح دهار بأنه استهدف عن عمد من قبل الاخوة زهري.

 
2016
السعي للمساعدة القانونية

تواصلت فوزية سلطانة مع مبادرة المساعدة القانونية لوسائل الإعلام للبحث عن المساعدة في التمثيل القانوني. ووافق المحامي كراتشي عبد الله نيزاماني من كراتشي على تولي قضيته بدعم من المبادرة.

 
نيسان
طلب إعادة التحقيق

11 نيسان: التقت فوزية سلطانة ورئيس نادي الصحافة في لاركانا بابو إقبال ومجموعة من الصحفيين المحليين بنائب المفتش العام للشرطة في لاركانا عبد الله الشيخ، وقدموا طلبا من أجل إعادة التحقيق في قضية شان دهار. 19 نيسان: أصدر نائب المفتش العام أوامر مكتوبة لإعادة التحقيق في القضية وبتشكيل فريق يتكون من مدير الشرطة توقير نعيم، والمفتش محمد رند، والمفتش شبير أحمد الشيخ، ومساعد مدير الشرطة سجاد أحمد بهاتي. 23 نيسان: زار المفتش نعيم مسرح الجريمة مع فريق التحقيق. وقد استمع نعيم إلى أقوال شقيق زوجة شان رياض خوسخ وأكد للعائلة أن العدالة ستتحقق تحت مراقبته.

 
بدء إعادة التحقيق في القضية

23 نيسان: زار مدير الشرطة توقير نعيم مسرح الجريمة مع فريق التحقيق. ودوّن نعيم تصريحات من شقيق شان رياض كوشك وأكد للعائلة أن العدالة سوف تتحقق تحت اشرافه.

 
أيار
سحب التمثيل القانوني

بتاريخ 6 أيار، سحب عبد الله دعمه لقضية شان دهار مشيرا الى مسافة البعيدة بين كراتشي واركانا. بتاريحخ 9 أيار، تواصلت فوزية سلطانة مع مبادرة الدفاع القانوني لوسائل الإعلام لمساعدتها في تعيين محامي مقيم في لاركانا.

 
2017

تحديثات جديدة

أيار: استئناف التحقيق المستقل

بتاريخ 19 أيار، اجتمع وفد من مؤسسة الصحافة الباكستانية وشقيقة دهار فوزية سلطانة مع وزير الداخلية في أقليم السند السيد قازي شهيد برفيز، لطلب إعادة التحقيق ومعاقبة المرتكبين بشكل مستقل. وبناء على أوامره، تم نقل التحقيق إلى ولاية قضائية جديدة تحت قيادة كبير مشرفي شرطة دادو بمنطقة حيدر أباد، السيد شابر أحمد سيثار.

 
تموز

تحديثات جديدة

تقرير تحقيق سيثار

وودفقا لمعلومات غير مؤكدة، قدم سيثار تقريرا إلى المفتش العام لشرطة السند في شهر تموز. وعلى الرغم من أن الشرطة لم تقدم بعد نسخة من التقرير إلى الأسرة، فإنه يُعتقد أن التقرير يؤكد إهمال الشرطة في التحقيق الأولي، فضلا عن سوء الأدلة.


ماذا يفعل أعضاء آيفكس؟

تعمل مؤسسة الصحافة الباكستانية مع عائلة شان دهار، فضلا عن غيرها من أصحاب المصلحة المحلية والدولية، من أجل إعادة فتح التحقيق. وتسعى مؤسسة الصحافة الباكستانية لتعزيز وسائل الإعلام الحرة والمستقلة في باكستان، وتوثّق بشكل روتيني الانتهاكات ضد الصحافة وتعمل على إدانتها.

عرضت منظمة بايتس فور أل - باكستان دعمها كجزء من عملها في الدفاع عن حرية التعبير في جنوب آسيا. وتركز المنظمة على استخدام تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات لتعزيز التنمية وحقوق الإنسان في باكستان وخارجها.

انضمت لجنة حماية الصحفيين إلى عائلة شان دهار في الدفاع عن قضيته. ففي عام 2014، أرسلت لجنة حماية الصحفيين وفدا للقاء رئيس الوزراء نواز شريف لتأمين التزاماته بمكافحة التهديدات التي يواجهها الصحفيون في باكستان. وتم تسليط الضوء مقتل شان دهار في تقرير مؤشر الإفلات من العقاب لعام 2015.

المزيد من الموارد والمعلومات

المحاصرون بين الدولة والمتطرفين: لمحة عن باكستان

آسيا والباسيفيكي 27 August 2017

لماذا تعتبر باكستان واحدة من أخطر المناطق في العالم بالنسبة للصحفيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان؟



 
انخرطوا الآن
[]

من شبكتنا:

RT @IFJGlobal: #Somalia: Kalsan TV journalist Mohamed Ibrahim killed by car bomb https://t.co/QAyP68ra1e #noimpunity https://t.co/m7szLQGp…

REGIONS:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

CASE PROFILE

Shan Dahar: A family's fight for justice

On 1 January 2014, Pakistani journalist Shan Dahar was shot by armed men and taken to a local hospital where he remained unattended until he succumbed to his injuries. More than two years later, none of the perpetrators have been brought to justice.

Zakir Ali – also known as Shan Dahar – was Bureau Chief of Abb Takk Television channel in Larkana district of Sindh province, Pakistan. Shan was shot in the back at 12:30am on 1 January 2014 and taken to Chandka Medical College Hospital (CMCH), where he remained unattended until he succumbed to his injuries in the morning, nine hours later.

The local police, in an investigation that his family believes to be flawed and motivated, declared the death an accident that resulted from celebratory shooting on New Year's Eve. However, the family believes he was targeted because of his stories on the illicit sale of medicine donated by NGOs in local hospitals. The media community in Pakistan likewise believes that the killing was retribution for his journalistic work. Shan was working on a number of incendiary stories at the time and had received threats prior to the shooting.

In the nine hours that he spent at CMCH, Shan managed to inform his friends and family by telephone that Amir Zehri and Irfan Zehri were the individuals that gunned him down. However, neither man is currently being investigated for the crime of murder; instead they are facing trial in absentia after absconding from judgment.

IFEX member the Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF) successfully advocated with the family of Shan Dahar to have the case re-investigated as an intentional killing, based on evidence that refutes the claim of an accidental death and points to a possible cover-up by local officials. PPF is currently working with the family and other stakeholders to ensure the new investigation leads to the identification and prosecution of those responsible for Shan's death. Impunity in Pakistan is rampant, as evidenced by PPF's findings that of the 72 cases of killing of media practitioners since 2002, there have been convictions in only three cases.

Key Actors

Amir Zehri and Irfan Zehri (pictured), are the brothers who have been accused of killing Shan Dahar. According to Shan’s sister Fouzia Sultana, they were identified by Shan as his assailants in the final hours before his death, but were not arrested. They are currently facing trial in absentia for charges that presume the death to be an accident. Family members allege that the accused are roaming freely in the city, but the police have made no serious attempts to arrest them.

Khadim Rind, the Deputy Inspector General of Police in Larkana established a committee to investigate the killing that also includes Inspector Murtaza Kaloro, Assistant Superintendent of Police Inspector; Sajid Khokhar, and several Deputy Superintendents of Police.

Babu Iqbal, President of Larkana Press Club and correspondent of ARY News, has been supporting Shan Dahar’s family with legal matters and has lobbied the local administration and police to re-investigate Dahar’s killing.

Qazi Shahid Pervez, Home Secretary who directed the Inspector General of Police Sindh to order a reinvestigation of the case and appoint an independent investigative team. Soon after, the investigation was transferred to a new jurisdiction under Senior Superintendent of Police Dadu, Shabbir Ahmed Sethar.

Pakistan Press Foundation, a local civil society group and IFEX member working closely with the family of Shan Dahar to ensure the new investigation is conducted fairly and transparently and that the perpetrators are brought to justice. PPF awarded Dahar’s family with the PPF Press Freedom Award on 3 May 2014 in support of their efforts to find justice for Shan’s death.

The Media Legal Defense Initiative is a non-profit organisation dedicated to providing legal defense to journalists, bloggers and independent media and has been working directly with the family of Shan Dahar to provide them with local legal representation for Shan’s case.

Timeline of Events

 
2013
Threats against Dahar

On 25 December 2013, Dahar files a complaint with Station House Officer of Badah police station, Shah Jahan Jhakrani about threats he had been receiving because of his work. After Shan’s murder, the book containing his complaints mysteriously disappears. The above video was recorded by Shan Dahar during his journalistic investigations in 2013 and allegedly depicts the illicit transaction of medicine donated by a local NGO.

 
2014
Struck down during News Years celebrations

In the early hours of 1 January 2014, Shan Dahar is shot multiple times by assailants he would later identify to be brothers Irfan and Amir Zehri. Shan is rushed to the hospital, but dies 9 hours later without receiving treatment for his injuries.

 
January
Government seeks report

Chief Minister of Sindh Province, Syed Qaim Ali Shah asks the Sindh Inspector General (IG) of Police to submit a report on the incident within three days. Larkana Deputy Inspector General (DIG) of Police constitutes a five-member committee, headed by Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP), Sajid Khokhar to investigate the killing. The investigation declares the attack on Dahar was not targeted, but a result of stray firing during New Year’s Eve celebrations.

 
Promises of financial support

The Chief Minister announces the government will begin to provide free education to the two daughters of the slain journalist, citing humanitarian reasons. The Pakistan Federal Union of Journalists (PFUJ) also provided monthly financial assistance to the family of Dahar for two years. The last payment was received in May 2017.

 
Protest Demonstrations

After the killing of Dahar, journalists hold demonstrations in Sindh province to protest the doctors’ negligence and to demand the killers’ arrest and further compensation of the bereaved family.

 
February
Application to Reinvestigate

Riaz Hussain Khushk, brother-in-law of Dahar submits a request to the DIG of Sindh Police on 24 February 2014 to reinvestigate the case, as the First Information Report was registered under the Pakistani legal code for murder but investigated as a killing that occurs by any “rash or negligent act”.

 
April
Letter Written to IG Police Sindh

On 2 April 2014, the local NGO Madadgaar National Helpline writes a letter to the Inspector General (IG) of Sindh Police urging him to reinvestigate the killing of Dahar. On 7 April, Dahar’s sister Fouzia Sultana also writes to the IG Sindh police to request a reinvestigation of her brother’s murder.

 
May
Two Doctors Suspended

As the result of an investigatory committee established by the medical superintendent of CMCH, on 12 May, Chief Secretary of Sindh Province, Sajjad Saleem Hotiana suspended Dr. Abdul Ghaffar Kandhro, the doctor in charge of the Rural Health Center, Badah and Dr Ali Gohar Chandio, Senior Medical Officer at CMCH’s Larkana Surgery Department for negligence in treating Shan Dahar.

 
2015
Dahar’s Case Submitted in Court

In November 2015, the Larkana police submit the case to the court of the District and Sessions Judge Larkana under section 319, killed by a stray bullet. This decision is made in spite of Dahar’s statement that he was deliberately targeted by the Zehri brothers.

 
2016
Legal Assistance Sought

In February 2016, Fouzia Sultana contacts MLDI seeking assistance with legal representation. Karachi-based Advocate Abdullah Nizamani agrees to take on their case with MLDI’s support.

 
April
Application for Reinvestigation Filed

On 11 April, Fouzia Sultana along with Babu Iqbal, President of Larkana press club and other local journalists met Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG) Larkana, Abdullah Shaikh and submitted an application for re-investigation of Shan Dahar's case. On 19 April, the DIG issued written orders for re-investigation of the case and assembled a team that consists of Tauqeer Naeem, Superintendent of Police (SP); Yar Muahmmad Rind, Inspector; Shabir Ahmed Shaikh, Inspector and Sajjad Ahmed Bhatti, Assistant Superintendent of Police.

 
Reinvestigation of Case Begins

On 23 April, SP Tauqeer Naeem visited the crime scene along with his investigative team. Naeem took a statement from Shan’s brother Riaz Khuskh and assured the family that justice would be served under his watch.

 
May
Legal representation withdrawn

On 6 May, Abdullah Nizamani withdraws his support to Shan Dahar’s case, citing the great distance between Karachi and Larkana. On 9 May, Fouzia Sultana contacts MLDI to help her in arranging the support of a Larkana-based lawyer.

 
2017
Independent investigation resumes

On 19 May, a delegation consisting of the Pakistan Press Foundation and Dahar’s sister Fouzia Sultana met the Secretary of Home Department Sindh, Mr. Qazi Shahid Pervez to request a renewed and fully independent reinvestigation and punishment of the perpetrators. On his orders, the investigation was transferred to a new jurisdiction under Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) Dadu, Hyderabad Range, Shabbir Ahmed Sethar.

 
July

NEW UPDATE

Sethar’s Investigation Report

According to unconfirmed information, Sethar submitted a report to the Inspector General of Sindh Police in the month of July. Although the police have yet to provide a copy of the report to the family, it is believed that it confirms the police’s negligence in the initial investigation, as well as mishandling of evidence.

What IFEX Members Are Doing

The Pakistan Press Foundation is working with the family of Shan Dahar, as well as other local and international stakeholders to have the case re-investigated. PPF seeks to promote a free and independent media in Pakistan and routinely documents and condemns violations against the press.

Bytes 4 All Pakistan has offered its support as part of its mandate to advocate for free expression in South Asia. Bytes 4 All Pakistan focuses on the use of Information and Communication Technologies for strengthening development and human rights in Pakistan and beyond.

The Committee to Protect Journalists has joined Shan Dahar's family in advocating for his case. In 2014 CPJ sent a delegation to meet with Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif to secure commitments to combat threats facing journalists in Pakistan. Shan Dahar's death was highlighted in the 2015 Impunity Index.

More Resources & Information

Caught between the state and extremists: Country profile of Pakistan

Asia & Pacific 27 August 2017

Why is Pakistan one of the most dangerous environments in the world for journalists and human rights defenders?



 
Get Involved Now
[]

Latest Tweet:

On Monday, the UN General Assembly will debate a new resolution on journalists' safety and impunity. Every member s… https://t.co/kWSz9cbvuS