Sign up for weekly updates

Three journalists injured in attack on Timergara Press Club

(PPF/IFEX) - Three office bearers of the Timergara Press Club - President Syed Amjad Ali Shah, General Secretary Zia-ur-Rahim and Press Secretary Ismail Anjum - were injured when a group of protesting teachers attacked the press club in the Dir lower district of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province on May 27, 2010. Earlier the teachers burnt bundles of the "Mashriq" daily newspaper and chanted slogans.

According to press reports, more than 50 teachers affiliated with the All Primary Teachers Association (APTA) were holding protest rallies against a delay in the implementation of the Pay and Pension Commission's recommendations.

The teachers then stormed the press club and complained that the media was not covering their protest properly. They started beating the journalists with their fists and sticks. They also damaged furniture belonging to the press club and a camera. They threatened more retribution if the journalists did not adequately cover the protests to the teachers' satisfaction.

Latest Tweet:

#Cuba: Arrestan y multan a dos periodistas que reportaban sobre accidente de Cubana de Aviación…