المناطق:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

معلومات البلد أساسية

المحاصرون بين الدولة والمتطرفين: لمحة عن باكستان

 
صحافيون باكستانيون يرددون شعارات لإدانة قتل الصحفيين، الاربعاء 9 أيلول 2015 في بيشاور، باكستان. ترجمة اللافتة:
صحافيون باكستانيون يرددون شعارات لإدانة قتل الصحفيين، الاربعاء 9 أيلول 2015 في بيشاور، باكستان. ترجمة اللافتة: "اوقفوا الهجمات على وسائل الإعلام".

AP Photo/Mohammad Sajjad

لا أحد يعرف ما إذا كانت طالبان تعد اسلحتها ضده أو ما إذا كانت الأجهزة الأمنية تعد اسلحتها ضده... وأحيانا لا تعرف لان احدهما يعمل بناء على طلب من جهة أخرى
نجم سيثي، صحافي باكستاني
منقول من تقرير جذور الافلات من العقاب للجنة حماية الصحفيين


نظرة عامة

تعتبر باكستان واحدة من أخطر المناطق في العالم بالنسبة للمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان الذين يتعرضون للاعتداءات من قبل عناصر تابعة للدولة والجيش من جهة، والمتشددين والجماعات المتطرفة من جهة أخرى. لقد أعطت الحكومة المدنية الضعيفة الكثير من القوة للجيش الذي يُعفى من الفحص والتدقيق. ولم تؤدي التحقيقات في جرائم القتل والاختفاء إلى أي مكان. وفى ظل هذا المناخ، يسود الإفلات من العقاب.

العاصمة

اسلام اباد

عدد السكان

188.9 مليون نسمةi

الناتج المحلي الإجمالي

270 بليون دولار أمريكيi


الحكومة

جمهورية باكستان الإسلامية. الرئيس ممنون حسين، الذي تولى منصبه في عام 2013، له دور شرفي الى حد كبير. أما رئيس الوزراء نواز شريف الذي يخدم في فترة ولاية ثالثة كرئيس للوزراء، انتخب آخر مرة في أيار عام 2013 عندما فاز حزبه الاسلامي بالانتخابات البرلمانية بنسبة 32.7٪ من الأصوات الشعبية. كانت الانتخابات نزيهة إلى حد كبير، على الرغم من بعض حوادث العنف المنسوبة الى المتطرفين.


عضو في

الكومنولث، ومنظمة المؤتمر الإسلامي، ورابطة جنوب آسيا للتعاون الإقليمي، والأمم المتحدة


أعضاء آيفكس الذين يعملون في البلد

مؤسسة الصحافة الباكستانية

بايتس فور آل

مؤسسة الحقوق الرقمية


مؤشر مراسلون بلا حدود العالمي لحرية الصحافة 2016

147 من أصل 179 بلدا.


مجموعة كاملة من الإساءة - القتل والاختطاف ومراقبة الانترنت وقوانين التجديف

تواجه باكستان تحديات أمنية كبيرة إلى جانب الصراعات المستمرة على مناطقها الحدودية مع الهجمات العنيفة المتكررة بحق المدنيين من قبل الجماعات المتطرفة. في شهر كانون الاول من عام 2014، قُتل 149 شخصاً في هجومٍ على مدرسة في بيشاور، معظمهم من الأطفال، وأدى ذلك إلى تنازل الحكومة عن صلاحياتها الدستورية، وترك اتخاذ القرارات الهامة للجيش في اطار خطة عمل وطنية لوضع حد للإرهاب تحديدا في مجالات الامن الوطني وحقوق الإنسان. في عام 2015، تم اعتقال أكثر من 9400 شخصاً بتهم تتعلق بالإرهاب، بينهم صحفيين. وتم تنفيذ تفجيرات انتحارية وهجمات اخرى قاتلة على أيدي أفراد من حركة طالبان وتنظيم القاعدة والجماعات ذات العلاقة بهم، مما أثرت تقريباً على جميع باكستان.

ذُكِرت التفاصيل الكاملة من الانتهاكات التي تتعرض لها وسائل الإعلام في باكستان بالتقرير السنوي حول حرية الصحافة لعام 2015 الذي اعدته مؤسسة الصحافة الباكستانية. فخلال العام، قتل اثنان من الإعلاميين بحادثين منفصلين، وأعلنت طالبان مسؤوليتها عن قتل احداهما. وتم تنفيذ عمليات اطلاق قنابل يدوية ومتفجرات ورصاص مما أدى إلى جرح ستة إعلاميين في سلسلة من الهجمات على مكاتب التلفزيون والصحف في شهري تشرين الثاني وكانون الاول من نفس العام، وعزت هذه الهجمات للجماعات المتطرفة. كما تشكل عمليات الاختطاف خطراً ولا سيما بحق الصحفيين في مناطق النزاع والمناطق القبلية، ولم يتم التبليغ عن هذه العمليات بسبب خوف العائلات من تفاقم الوضع في حال الاعلان عنها. كما اشتمل الظلم بحق وسائل الإعلام في تلك السنة على اتهامات مشكوك فيها بموجب قوانين مكافحة الارهاب ضد 11 صحفيا، ويعتقد أن هذه الاتهامات جاءت ردا على تقاريرهم حول الشخصيات المعارضة المثيرة للجدل، ومعاملة الشرطة القاسية للصحفيين الذين يغطون الاحتجاجات والاجتماعات السياسية.

وفقا لمنظمة فرونت لاين ديفندرز، فان باكستان هي أيضا بيئة خطرة جدا للمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والنشطاء الذين يعملون في جميع مجالات حماية حقوق الإنسان. حيث أفادت المنظمة بأنه ما بين شهري كانون الثاني وأيلول من عام 2016، تم قتل ناشطين احدهما في مجال حقوق المتحولين جنسيا، والاخر صحفي يقوم بمناصرة الأقليات الدينية من خلال الحملات. كما تم الابلاغ عن اعتداءات وحالات الاختفاء والتهديدات والمضايقات ضد نشطاء اخرين في مجال المتحولين جنسياً، والذين يعملون من أجل حقوق العمال والدين والأقليات، ودعاة التصدي للعنف ضد المرأة. ويبدو أن هناك عدد قليل، إن وجدت، من المناطق التي يمكن للمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان ممارسة عملهم فيها دون خوف.

إضافة إلى هذا الضغط، فقد شهد شهر آب من عام 2016 تمرير قانون منع الجرائم الالكترونية المثير للجدل الذي يُجرّم مصطلحات واسعة من الكلام، ويفرض عقوبة سجن قاسية، ويُعمّق المراقبة. فقد تفرض احد بنوده المثيرة للقلق عقوبة تصل إلى ثلاث سنوات في السجن بتهمة نشر معلومات "من المرجح أن تضر أو تمس سمعة أو خصوصية الشخص"، الأمر الذي يحد بشدة التحقيق في الانتهاكات المزعومة من قبل موظفي الحكومة. لقد قالت منظمة الحقوق الرقمية في باكستان "بايتس فور آل" بأن القانون عرضة لسوء الاستخدام "لأسباب سياسية / إيديولوجية"، مما يسمح للسلطات "بالسيطرة المطلقة على تدفق المعلومات". كما تمت عملية صدور التشريع من دون أي شفافية وبالقليل من التدقيق العام أو التواصل مع المجتمع المدني أو القطاع الخاص.

لدى باكستان أيضا قوانين تجديف قاسية التي يمكن أن تصل إلى عقوبة الإعدام. ففي عام 2013، تم تسجيل 34 تهمة جديدة بالتجديف، حيث ينتظر 17 شخصا تنفيذ حكم الإعدام بحقهم، ويقضي 20 شخص عقوبة السجن لمدى الحياة. ويشير تقرير شهر كانون الأول لعام 2015 الصادر عن شبكة باكستان للحقوق الرقمية إلى أن القانون ينطبق على كل ما هو "مرئي وافتراضي وعلى التلميحات والايحاءات" ويمتد إلى النشاط على الإنترنت، و"يترك الكثير من القوة للمستمعين أو لأطراف ثالثة لا علاقة لها بالتجديف المزعوم". وذكرت بان تشديد تشريعات التجديف في عام 1987 أدى إلى ارتفاع معدلات العنف خاصة ضد الأقليات الدينية، والتي أظهرت الحكومة ميلا قليلاً للتصدي لها.

صورة للافتة فيلم بلغة الباشتو وبجانبها حراس من رجال الشرطة يدخلون السينما في موقع هجوم بقنبلة في بيشاور، 11 شباط 2014
صورة للافتة فيلم بلغة الباشتو وبجانبها حراس من رجال الشرطة يدخلون السينما في موقع هجوم بقنبلة في بيشاور، 11 شباط 2014


الإفلات من العقاب - فهرس من التعتيم والتقاعس عن العمل

في عام 2013، نشرت لجنة حماية الصحفيين تقريرها "جذور الإفلات من العقاب"، الذي اشارت فيه إلى ان باكستان رابع دولة دموية في العالم بالنسبة للصحافة، مع استهداف الصحفيين بما لا يقل عن 23 عملية قتل منذ عام 2003. وأصبح العديد أيضاً ضحايا التفجيرات الانتحارية والعنف الناتج عن الصراع. منذ نشر التقرير، سجلت لجنة حماية الصحفيين سبع حالات قتل أخرى، خمسة منها تستهدف الصحفيين بشكل واضح.

إن الإدانات لجرائم قتل الإعلاميين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان نادرة. كما تعيش عائلات وأنصار الصحفيين الذين تعرضوا للقتل أو الاختفاء تحت ظلال الإفلات من العقاب لأنهم حاولوا العثور على العدالة. وفيما يلي امثلة صغيرة حول حالات الإفلات من العقاب:

• المحامي والمنسق الإقليمي للجنة حقوق الإنسان في باكستان، رشيد رحمان، قُتِل بالرصاص في مكتبه بشهر أيار عام 2014. وكان يدافع عن محاضر جامعي اتهم بالتجديف.

شان دهار، مدير مكتب تلفزيون إيه بي بي تاك، الذي توفي بعد اطلاق النار عليه في شهر كانون الثاني من عام 2014. ويحاكم المتهمين بقتله غيابيا بعد أن فروا من البلاد. كما أنهم متهمون بقتله بحادث وقع عن طريق الخطأ على الرغم من وجود الأدلة أنه كان مستهدفا.

• في آب 2015، اختطفت المراسلة زينات شاهذادي في لاهور. وكانت تحقق في عملية اختطاف آخرى. لقد اختفت الصحفية بالقوة وهي من بين 86 حالة اختفاء مسجلة لدى لجنة حقوق الإنسان في باكستان وهي هيئة غير حكومية (الرجاء عدم الخلط بينها وبين اللجنة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان). وبعد مرور عام من اختطافها، لم ينفذ أي تحقيق رسمي بالحادث.


آليات حقوق الإنسان "بلا أسنان"

على الرغم من الترحيب بإنشاء اللجنة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان في باكستان بعام 2015 من قبل منظمات حقوق الانسان المحلية، إلا أن اختصاصها محدودة للغاية، حيث وصفتها اللجنة الدولية للحقوقيين "بلا أسنان عند الولادة". فلا يمكن للجنة التحقيق في "فعل أو ممارسة وكالات الاستخبارات"، وعندما يتعلق الأمر بانتهاكات القوات المسلحة، فيمكنها فقط طلب تقرير من الحكومة وتقديم التوصيات. وقد رافق إنشاء هذه الآلية تقليص مساحة التحقيق من قبل المجتمع المدني. ففي تشرين الأول من عام 2015، وُضِعت قواعد جديدة للمنظمات الغير حكومية الدولية العاملة في باكستان، والتي تطلب منهم التسجيل والحصول على إذن مسبق لأي نشاط في البلاد. كما يمكن إلغاء تسجيل أي منظمة في حال "تورطها في أي نشاط يتعارض مع المصالح الوطنية الباكستانية، أو يتعارض مع سياسة الحكومة".

كانت باكستان احد البلدان التي ركّزت عليها خطة عمل الأمم المتحدة بشأن سلامة الصحفيين ومسألة الإفلات من العقاب. ففي حين ساعدت الخطة في بدء حوار بين أصحاب المصلحة في وسائل الاعلام والحكومة وقدمت تشريعات جديدة لحماية الصحفيين، إلا أن الضعف المؤسسي وقضايا القدرات أبطأت التنفيذ ومنعت حدوث تحسن كبير في مستويات السلامة والمحاكمات.

وقّعت باكستان أو صدّقت على معظم الاتفاقيات الرئيسية للأمم المتحدة حول حماية حقوق الإنسان، ولكنها لم تصادق على الاتفاقية الدولية لحماية جميع الأشخاص من الاختفاء القسري. على الرغم من أن الدولة موقعة على اتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب، إلا أنها لم توقع على البروتوكول الاختياري الخاص الذي يسمح للأمم المتحدة زيارة مراكز الاحتجاز. ذكرت منظمة فرونت لاين ديفندرز أيضا بأن مقرر الأمم المتحدة الخاص المعني بالمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان طلب "زيارة البلاد في أعوام 2003 و 2007 و 2008 و 2010 ولم يتم الرد عليها.

هناك حاجة ملحة إلى إيجاد آليات فعّالة لتمكين اجراء تحقيق كامل وعلني في انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان من قبل الوكالات العسكرية والحكومية، واتخاذ الإجراءات القضائية القوية لضمان اعتقال وإدانة أولئك الذين يقتلون معارضيهم. بدون هذه التدابير، فان اجهزة الدولة والميليشيات والمتطرفين سوف يستمرون في التهديد والاعتداء وحتى القتل مع الإفلات من العقاب.

المزيد من الموارد والمعلومات

شان دهار: معركة عائلته من أجل العدالة

آسيا والباسيفيكي 18 June 2016

بتاريخ 1 كانون الثاني عام 2014، أطلق النار على الصحافي الباكستاني شان دهار من قبل رجال مسلحين، وتم نقله الى مستشفى محلي حيث بقي غير مراقب حتى استسلم لجروحه. بعد مرور أكثر من عامين، لم يتم تقديم أي أحد من الجناة إلى العدالة.

تقرير عام 2016 حول الإفلات من العقاب في الجرائم المرتكبة ضد الصحفيين في باكستان: تأخير للعدالة ورفض العدل

آسيا والباسيفيكي 1 November 2016

في هذا التقرير، تجد مؤسسة الصحافة الباكستانية "مستوى تقريباً مطلق من الإفلات من العقاب" في باكستان نتيجة لعدم وجود اهتمام من قبل الحكومة الاتحادية والحكومات المحلية، وكذلك من أرباب العمل في متابعة القضايا القانونية للعنف ضد الصحفيين.



 
انخرطوا الآن

من شبكتنا:

1 yr into reinvestigation of killing of #Pakistan journalist #ShanDahar, case still cold #NoImpunityhttps://t.co/YuUFkW4Kow

REGIONS:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

Country Backgrounder

Caught between the state and extremists: Country profile of Pakistan

 
Pakistani journalists shout slogans to condemn the killing of journalists, Wednesday, 9 September 2015 in Peshawar, Pakistan. Placard on right reads
Pakistani journalists shout slogans to condemn the killing of journalists, Wednesday, 9 September 2015 in Peshawar, Pakistan. Placard on right reads "stop attacks on media."

AP Photo/Mohammad Sajjad

“One never knows whether the Taliban is gunning for you or whether the agencies are gunning for you ... and sometimes you don’t know because one is operating at the behest of the other.”
Najam Sethi, Pakistani journalist.
CPJ, Roots of Impunity


Overview

Attacked by state agents and the military on one side, and militant and extremist groups on the other, the situation for human rights defenders in Pakistan is one of the most dangerous in the world. A weak civilian government has handed over much power to the military, which is absolved from scrutiny. Investigations into murders and disappearances have led nowhere. Under this climate, impunity reigns.

Capital:

Islamabad

Population:

188.9 mi

GDP:

US$ 270.0 bi


Government:

President Mamnoon Hussain, who took office in 2013, holds a largely ceremonial role. Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif is serving his third term as prime minister, last elected in May 2013 when his Muslim League Party won parliamentary elections by 32.7% of the popular vote. The election was largely fair, although with some violent incidents attributed to extremists.


Member of:

The Commonwealth, Organisation of Islamic Conference, South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation, United Nations


IFEX members working in the country:

Pakistan Press Foundation | pakistanpressfoundation.org
Bytes for All | bytesforall.pk
Digital Rights Foundation | digitalrightsfoundation.pk


Press Freedom Ranking:

Reporters Without Borders Press Freedom Index 2016: 147 out of 179 countries


A panoply of abuse - killings, abductions, online surveillance and blasphemy laws

Pakistan faces significant security challenges alongside persistent conflicts on its border areas, with frequent violent attacks on civilians by extremist groups. The December 2014 attack on a school in Peshawar where 149 people were killed, most of them children, led to the government's ceding of significant constitutional and decision making powers to the military under a national action plan to end terrorism , specifically in the areas of national security and human rights. In 2015 alone, over 9,400 people had been arrested for terrorism offenses, among them journalists. Suicide bombings and other deadly attacks by members of the Taliban, Al-Qaeda and affiliated groups affected nearly all of Pakistan.

The panoply of abuses suffered by the media in Pakistan is detailed by the Pakistan Press Foundation in its report on press freedom in 2015. During the year, two media personnel were killed in separate instances, with the Taliban claiming responsibility for one of the deaths. Hand grenades, explosives and gunfire injured six media workers in a spate of attacks on television and newspaper offices in November and December that year, attributed to extremist groups. Abductions are a particular peril faced by reporters in conflict and tribal areas, thought to be under-reported as families fear publicity could worsen the situation. Further injustices against the media that year included dubious charges under anti-terror laws against 11 journalists, believed to be in retaliation for their reporting on a controversial opposition figure, and rough police treatment of reporters covering protests and political meetings.

According to Front Line Defenders, Pakistan is also a very dangerous environment for human rights defenders and activists working in all areas of rights protection. It reported that in nine months between January and September 2016, two were murdered: one a transgender rights activist, the other a journalist campaigning for religious minorities. Attacks, disappearances, threats and harassment were reported against other transgender activists, people working for labour, religious and minority rights, and advocates tackling violence against women. It would appear that there are few, if any, areas where human rights defenders can practice without fear.

To add to the pressure, August 2016 saw the passing into law of the controversial Prevention of Electronic Crimes bill that criminalises a broad spectrum of speech, instituting harsh prison sentences and deepening surveillance. One troubling clause provides up to three years in prison for publishing information 'likely to harm or intimidate the reputation or privacy' of a person, severely curtailing investigation into alleged abuses by government officers. The Pakistan digital rights organisation, Bytes For All, calls the law open to misuse for 'political/ideological reasons', giving the authorities 'absolute control over the flow of information'. The passing of the legislation was carried out with no transparency and little if any public scrutiny or liaison with civil society or the private sector.

Pakistan also has harsh blasphemy laws that can draw down the death penalty. In 2013, 34 new charges of blasphemy were registered, with 17 people awaiting execution, and another 20 serving life imprisonment. A December 2015 report by the Digital Rights Network Pakistan points out that the law applies to written as well as 'visible representations, imputations, innuendo or insinuations' and extends to online activity, 'leaving a lot of power to listeners or unrelated third parties to allege blasphemy'. It reports that harsher blasphemy legislation introduced in 1987 led to a rise in vigilante violence particularly against religious minorities, and which the government showed little inclination to address.

The poster of a Pashto language film is pictured as policemen guard the entrance of a cinema at the site of a grenade attack in Peshawar, 11 February 2014
The poster of a Pashto language film is pictured as policemen guard the entrance of a cinema at the site of a grenade attack in Peshawar, 11 February 2014

REUTERS/Khuram Parvez


Impunity – a catalogue of obfuscation and inaction

In 2013, the Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) published its report, Roots of Impunity, which cited Pakistan as the fourth deadliest nation in the world for the press, with at least 23 targeted killings of journalists since 2003. Many more became victims of suicide bombings and other conflict related violence. Since the report was published, CPJ has recorded seven more killings, five of them clearly targeted.

Convictions for the murders of media workers and human rights defenders are rare. Families and supporters of the killed and disappeared live under a pall of impunity as they attempt to find justice. A small sampling of cases languishing in impunity includes:

• Lawyer and regional coordinator of the Human Rights Commission of Pakistan, Rashid Rehman was shot dead in his office in May 2014. He had been defending a university lecturer accused of blasphemy.
Shan Dahar, bureau chief of Abb Takk Television, who died after being shot in January 2014. His alleged killers are being tried in absentia having fled the country. They are charged with accidental shooting despite evidence that he was targeted.
• In August 2015, reporter Zeenat Shahzadi was abducted in Lahore. She had been investigating another kidnapping. The first female journalist to be forcibly disappeared, she is among 86 disappearances registered with the non-governmental Human Rights Commission on Pakistan (not to be confused with the National Commission for Human Rights). A year after her abduction, no official investigation had been initiated.


Human rights mechanisms ‘toothless’

The establishment of Pakistan's National Commission for Human Rights in 2015 was welcomed by local rights groups but its remit is severely limited, leading the International Commission of Jurists to describe it as 'toothless at birth'. The Commission cannot inquire into 'the act or practice of the intelligence agencies', and when it comes to abuses of the armed forces, it can only request a report from the government and make recommendations. The creation of this mechanism has been accompanied by shrinking space for civil society investigation. In October 2015, new rules for international NGOs operating in Pakistan were put in place, requiring that they register and obtain prior permission for any activity in the country. Registration can be cancelled for 'involvement in any activity inconsistent with Pakistan's national interests, or contrary to Government policy'.

Pakistan is one of the focus countries for UN Plan of Action on the Safety of Journalists and the issue of impunity. While the plan has helped to create dialogue between media stakeholders and the government and advance new legislation for the protection of journalists, institutional weakness and capacity issues have slowed implementation and prevented a significant improvement in levels of safety and prosecutions.

Pakistan has signed or ratified most key United Nations conventions protecting human rights, but tellingly, not the Convention on the Protection of all Persons From Enforced Disappearance. Although a signatory to the Convention Against Torture, it has not signed its optional protocol that would allow UN visits to detention centres. Frontline Defenders also reports that the UN Special Rapporteur on Human Rights Defenders' requests to visit the country in 2003, 2007, 2008 and 2010 have not been answered.

There is an urgent need for effective mechanisms to enable full and open investigation into human rights abuses by the military and government agencies, and for robust judicial procedures to ensure apprehension and conviction of those who kill their opponents. Without these measures, state agents, militias and extremists will continue to threaten, attack and even murder with impunity.

More Resources & Information

Shan Dahar: A family's fight for justice

Asia & Pacific Pakistan Press Foundation 18 June 2016

On 1 January 2014, Pakistani journalist Shan Dahar was shot by armed men and taken to a local hospital where he remained unattended until he succumbed to his injuries. More than two years later, none of the perpetrators have been brought to justice.

2016 Report on Impunity for Crimes against Journalists in Pakistan: Justice Delayed and Justice Denied

Asia & Pacific Pakistan Press Foundation 1 November 2016

In this report, the Pakistan Press Foundation finds a "near absolute level of impunity" in Pakistan due to a lack of interest by the federal and provincial governments as well as employers in pursuing legal cases of violence against journalists.



ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Related stories on ifex.org


 
Get Involved Now

Latest Tweet:

Courts issue arrest warrant for suspects in 2004 killing of #DeydaHydara #Gambia #NoImpunityhttps://t.co/Y26OyruNdp