Sign up for weekly updates

Four journalists detained, released without charge

(MISA/IFEX) - On 15 July 2011, four Bulawayo-based journalists were arrested in Ntabazinduna while covering a story on a police officer who was reportedly being evicted from her house on grounds of her alleged political affiliation to the Movement for Democratic Change (MDC-T).

The four journalists are: "The Standard" reporter Nqobani Ndlovu and freelance journalists Pamenus Tuso, Pindai Dube and Oscar Nkala.

They were detained at Ntabazinduna Police Station, about 40 km from Bulawayo and later released around 4.30pm on the same day after spending close to four hours in police custody.

MISA-Zimbabwe Media Lawyers Network representatives Matsobane Ncube, Kucaca Phulu and Kholwane Ngwenya travelled to Ntabazinduna to establish the nature of the charges against the four. However, when the lawyers arrived at the police station the four journalists had already been released without charges.

Latest Tweet:

"This foolish, shortsighted cruelty will give way to something kinder and more visionary. This particular malaise,…

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.